[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 91°F ~ Low: 72°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

Sikeston man chosen to receive an alumni award from Southeast

Thursday, May 11, 2006

CAPE GIRARDEAU -- The Southeast Missouri State University Alumni Association has selected a Sikeston resident as one of eight alumni to receive the University's 2006 Young Alumni Merit Award.

Larry Eby will be among the eight honored at a commencement luncheon at 12:15 p.m. Saturday in the Student Recreation Center and will be recognized during spring commencement exercises at 2 p.m. Saturday in the Show Me Center.

Other alumni to receive the award are Scott Giles of Dardenne Prairie; Russell Grammer of Cape Girardeau; Stephanie Manning of Wildwood; Dr. Stephen Owen of Christiansburg, Va.; Dr. Jennifer McCluskey of St. Louis; Darlene Nelson of Villa Ridge; and Chris Simmers of Jackson.

The Young Alumni Merit Award is given annually to honor those alumni 37 years or younger who have brought distinction to the University through professional growth, service and individual character.

The Alumni Association chooses from the list of nominees representing each college and selects the recipients. Nominations may come from faculty, staff or alumni.

President and chief executive officer of Galaxy Cablevision, has been selected as a recipient for the 2006 Young Alumni Merit Award from the College of Liberal Arts.

Eby received a bachelor of science degree in mass communication from Southeast in 1991.

After receiving his bachelor's degree, Eby served as the chapter consultant for Pi Kappa Alpha Memorial Headquarters until 1993, traveling through nine states to advise undergraduate chapters on areas of fraternity management and finances.

He began his career with Galaxy in 1993, eventually serving as executive vice president of operations before earning his current position as president and chief executive officer.

Eby's many awards and affiliations include the Outstanding Leadership Award for Galaxy Cablevision and serving as a current member of the board of directors for the National Cable Television Cooperative.