[Nameplate] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 73°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Johnson and Hassell are named to all-region team

Wednesday, March 1, 2006

POPLAR BLUFF -- Three Rivers landed three players on the 10-player all-region team that is led by player of the year Tyrone Brazelton of MSU-West Plains and features five Mineral Area Cardinals.

Sophomore point guard Dominitrix Johnson, the lone holdover from last year's all-region team, finished second in player of the year voting. Center Abayomi Ajasin and forward Jermaine Dailey were sixth and eighth, respectively.

Poplar Bluff natives T.J. Britton and Tony Webb, Portageville's Willie Hassell, Darryl Butterfield and Curtis Muse all represented the Cardinals, who went 8

-0 in region play to complete the first perfect season since 1997. Moberly forward B.J. Benning and Brazelton, the fifth Grizzly in the last seven years to receive POY honors, complete the team.

Johnson, a 6-foot Bell City native, averaged 16.3 points, 2.5 rebounds and 3.0 assists during the regular season. He led the region with 83 3-pointers on 41.4 percent shooting.

Hassell, who was 6-for-6 from downtown as Mineral Area denied Raiders coach Gene Bess his 1,000th career victory Feb. 18, averaged 10.3 points and 2.7 rebounds off the Cardinal bench. He's shooting 37.5 percent from 3-

point range.

Voting, which was submitted my one member of each coaching staff, broke down as follows: Brazelton (6), Johnson (12), Webb (22), Benning (23), Britton (32), Ajasin (40), Hassell (43), Dailey (47), Butterfield (50) and Muse (52).