[Nameplate] Fair ~ 81°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 73°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Looking Back 6/3

Friday, June 3, 2005

60 years ago

SIKESTON - Mrs. J.R. Harwell was in charge of the first Story Hour at the Sikeston Public Library last Saturday morning when more than 30 children were present. Mrs. W. H. Martin will have charge of the program next Saturday.

* * *

SIKESTON - The Sikeston-Teen Town held election of officers recently and chose the following: Allen Crites, president, Johnny Waters, Travis Jackson, Alfred Bach, Bob Foley and Bob Deneke, vice presidents; Emma Lee Nicholson, secretary; and Billy Joe Greer, treasurer.

40 years ago

SIKESTON - After 32 years of service, Mrs. Helen Loud Jones, elementary music supervisor in the public schools retired from teaching Tuesday. She began her teaching career in the Lilbourn school District in 1921. Mrs. Jones has been music supervisor in Sikeston since 1956. The Sikeston Community Teachers Association honored Mrs. Jones by presenting her with a certificate of merit for her services to the public schools.

DEXTER - Ray Rainey, owner of the Rainey Funeral Home, is the new president of the Missouri Funeral Directors and Embalmers Association.

20 years ago

MINER - The Super 8 Motel in Miner, located at 2609 E. Malone Ave., opened for business Tuesday. The 63-unit motel is the 11th Super 8 in Missouri and employs approximately 20 persons. The Super 8 Motel chain, based in Aberdeen, S.D., currently has 247 motels opened in 32 states and Canada.

10 years ago

POPLAR BLUFF - The 1995 American Legion Post baseball team opened their season with a 7-1 road victory against the Poplar Bluff's Post 153 team. "We're pretty strong," said Charlie Dye, interim manager, "especially up the middle. With the talent we've got from the catcher all the way to centerfield, we'll be real strong." Sikeston's Kevin Vent pitched all five innings of the rain-

shortened game.

SIKESTON - Sikeston Junior High School students Rebecca Dixon, an eighth grader, and Erynn Hedrick, a ninth grade student, won first place honors at the State Music Contest. Both students play violin.