[Nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 93°F  
Feels like: 102°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Area represented well in all-region

Friday, November 24, 2006

CAPE GIRARDEAU -- Several local football players were honored with their performances this season as the Southeast Missouri Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association released its all-region teams.

The Sikeston Bulldogs had no first team selections, but four players were picked for the second team in Class 4.

Senior Joe Moore was picked on the offensive line while senior Salamar Cox and junior Robert Madison made the list on the defensive line. Senior Jerod Scott was selected as a linebacker.

All four were also picked for first team all-conference in the SEMO North. In Class 3, Dexter and New Madrid County Central had players peppered throughout the list. The Bearcats, who finished 8-2 this year, loaded up with four players on offense and three on defense.

Senior Zach Ventura, who rushed for 1,139 yards with 15 touchdowns, was a first-team running back. Offensive linemen Thomas Fowler and Alex Watkins were selected for first team. Senior Logan Swindle got a double-dose, earning first-team honors as a wide receiver and as a kicker.

Watkins was named to the defensive line as well. Junior David Hessling was picked as a first-team linebacker and senior Chad Ventura was selected as a first-team defensive back.

NMCC had four players selected on the team in the wake of the Eagles' 8-3, district championship season.

Senior Patrick Guest was selected on the offensive line while he had three teammates picked on the defensive squad. Junior L.T. Sutton was picked on the defensive line, junior Sedrick Hemphill as a linebacker and junior Corey Rowe as a defensive back.

On the second team, Dexter's Josh Stevens (QB), Thomas Espey (OL), Drew Pixley (WR/DB) and Drew Satterfield (DL) were selected.

Also selected for the second team were NMCC's Marquese Gates (RB), Brad Colbert (OL), Guest (DL) and Dijuan Waters (LB).

In Class 2, the Charleston Bluejays had senior offensive lineman Brian Cassell selected on the first team offense. On defense, senior defensive lineman Markell Kent, senior defensive back Justin Clark and junior linebacker Matt Medlock were picked for the first team.

Also picked on the first team was East Prairie junior Tony Jones, who made it as a tight end and a defensive lineman, and Eagle sophomore linebacker Riley Hadenfeldt.

On the second team, Charleston sophomore Garrison Eastman was picked for the offensive line. For East Prairie, junior Cameron Woodward (QB), sophomore Ian Penrod (OL), sophomore M.C. Williams (RB), senior Zach Secoy (DB) and senior Caleb Hatton (DB) were all picked for the second team.

Former Sikeston coach and current Chaffee head coach Charlie Vickery was named the coach of the year in Class 1 after helping the Red Devils snap a 34-game losing streak in finishing 3-7.