[Nameplate] Fair ~ 91°F  
Feels like: 98°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Turkey Trot proceeds go to scholarship fund

Wednesday, November 22, 2006

Adam Lofton of Sikeston and Bethany Brown of Charleston were the winners in their divisions.

CHARLESTON -- The first Turkey Trot, an 8K road race along with other track events, was held on Saturday at Marshall Field in Charleston.

The event was conducted by the family of the late Adam McGee along with Splitmaster Timing and Race Management in an effort to raise funds for the Adam McGee Memorial Scholarship.

Adam, the son of Gary and Kathie McGee of Sikeston, was struck down with a heart condition, cardiomyopathy, at the age of 11 in April of 2001. He was a fifth grade student at Kelly Elementary at the time of his passing.

"We think of Adam just as much today as we did when he was here with us," said his cousin, Megan Nelson. "He was a special kid and we just want to honor his memory with the memorial scholarship."

The inaugural scholarship will be presented in 2008, the year Adam was scheduled to graduate from high school. Until then, the family is dedicated to raising funds through various events that promote healthy lifestyles. The next event is a Resolution Run to be held in Sikeston on New Year's Day.

Twenty-eight participants braved the chilly, windy day to compete in the Turkey Trot.

Adam Lofton of Sikeston, competing in the 20-29 age class, was the overall victor with a course record time of 27:56.698 in the 8k run.

Bethany Brown of Charleston, in the 40-49 age class, captured the female title, also in a course record, with a time of 38:02.28.

In the male 13-19 class, Logan Davis of Scott City took first in a time of 28.47.869. Katie Bloemer of Sikeston won the female 13-19 class with a time of 41:32.7.

Claiming the top spots in the male 20-29 group, excepting overall winner Lofton, were Eddie Glenn and David Burdick, both of Cape Girardeau. The pair was separated by a mere .001 of a second with Glenn's time at 42:10.641. Megan Nelson of Sikeston placed first in the female 20-29 age group with a time of 50:51.617.

Delbert Marriot of Charleston was the leader in the male 30-39 category with a time of 28:14.229, the second best overall time of the day.

Craig Sutton of East Prairie won the male 40-49 class in a time of 44:16.464. Bill Davis of Scott City, track and cross country coach at Notre Dame High School, was the 50-59 pacesetter with a time of 37:14.358.

There was also action for the young set with 10-month-old Tommy-Anne Marriott "edging" 8-month-old Emma Scudder in the 15-foot crawl event. Marriott's time was a blazing 4.321 seconds while Scudder crossed the finish line in 22.542 seconds.

Kaitlyn Eskew, a 3-year-old, won the 100-meter dash in 30.432 seconds, 8- year-old Marissa Jones captured the 400-meter dash in 1.33, 9-year-old Aaron Birk was the 800 winner in 3.59 and Jones completed a double victory with a win in the mile in a time of 7.29.

Complete results

Charleston Turkey Trot 8k Pos. Name Class City Time 1 Adam Lofton M 20

-29 Sikeston 27:56.698 2 Delbert Marriott M 30-39 Charleston 28:14.229 3 Logan Davis M 13-19 Jackson 28:47.869 4 Richie Bohn M 13-19 Scott City 33:11.901 5 Bill Davis M 50-59 Scott City 37:14.358 6 Bethany Brown F 40

-49 Charleston 38:02.280 7 Rick Bohn M 50-59 Scott City 41:12.004 8 Katie Bloemer F 13-19 Sikeston 41:32.705 9 Jeffrey Ketchum M 13-19 Charleston 41:35.155 10 Eddie Glenn M 20-29 Cape Gir. 42:10.641 11 David Burdick M 20-29 Cape Gir. 42:10.642 12 James Barber M 13-19 Charleston 43:

19.260 13 Craig Sutton M 40-49 East Prairie 44:16.464 14 Ben Rockett M 13

-19 Charleston 47:38.964 15 Taylor Duenne F 13-19 Charleston 47:

39.123 16 Ross V. Robey M 50-59 Bloomfield 48:53.285 17 Shad Old M 20

-29 Sikeston 50:50.885 18 Megan Nelson F 20-29 Sikeston 50:51.617 19 James Elser M 13-19 Charleston 54:06.338 20 Jerry Jr. Rossen M 13-19 Charleston 54:57.859 21 Eric Vinson M 13-19 Charleston 54:58.290

15-ft. Baby Crawl Pos. Name Age Time 1 Tommy-Anne Marriott 10 mo. 4.321 sec. 2 Emma Scudder 8 mo. 22.542 sec.

100-Meter Dash 1 Katilyn Eskew 3 30.432 sec. 2 Jacob MD Marriott 2 44.009 sec.

400-Meter Dash 1 Marissa Jones 8 1.33 2 Isaac Baker 7 1.55

800-Meter Dash 1 Aaron Birk (boys) 9 3.59 1 Madelyn Baker (girls) 9 4.10

Mile 1 Marissa Jones (girls) 8 7.29 1 Delbert Marriott (men) 37 7.33