[Nameplate] Fair ~ 82°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 73°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Sikeston girls named to All-District softball

Friday, November 11, 2005

SIKESTON -- Senior Molly Brinkmeyer, repeating as a first team Class 4, District 1 selection, was the workhorse of the Lady Bulldogs' pitching staff.

Brinkmeyer appeared in 24 games, logging 115.1 innings with an 11-13 won-lost record. She posted a 2.30 ERA with 160 strikeouts and 20 walks.

At the plate, Brinkmeyer led Sikeston with a .519 batting average, a slugging percentage of .684 and an on-base percentage of .529. She drove home 22 runs, scored 13 and stole 10 bases.

She had a fielding percentage of .904.

Senior outfielder Paige Silverthorn, also a repeater to the all-district team, was a stellar table-setter for the Lady Bulldogs.

While starting all 24 Sikeston games, Silverthorn hit .394 with 66 singles, three doubles and two triples, scored 14 runs and stole nine bases. She had a .500 slugging percentage and a .530 on-base percentage.

Silverthorn, also seeing duty as a catcher, was near flawless, defensively. She had one error as a catcher, none as an outfielder.

Erin Wibbenmeyer, a senior infielder, and Beth Ziegenhorn, a senior infielder, were second team selections.


Class 2, District 5 All-District Team


Lydia Thomure, East Prairie, sr.

Hannah Freeze, East Carter, jr.

Kalie Hughes, Kelly, jr.

Casey Kern, Kelly, fr.


Talia Thurman, East Prairie, sr.

Summer Proctor, Kelly, jr.

Stephanie Moecklie, East Carter, jr.


Mindy Robert, Kelly, sr.

Tiffany Smith, Naylor, sr.

Brittany Ponder, Kelly, jr.

Caitlyn Bowman, East Carter, jr.

Kayla Cunningham, Twin Rivers, soph.

Katee Moore, Kelly, fr.

Kristen Stoup, Malden, fr.


Brooke Darnell, Malden, sr.

Holly Dalton, East Carter, soph.

Carlee Vancil, Twin Rivers, fr.

Honorable mention

Jade Marcum, East Prairie, sr.

Molly Triplett, East Prairie, sr.

Danielle Cooper, Malden, sr.

Libby Parish, Naylor, soph.

Bethany Keirsey, Twin Rivers, fr.

Class 4, District 1 All-District team

First team

Pitchers -- Molly Brinkmeyer (Sikeston), Kristin Ploetze (Poplar Bluff), Amanda Clack (Hillsboro).

Catchers -- Liz Rainbolt (Poplar Bluff); Jessica Pitts (Jackson), Molly Currington (Farmington).

Infielders -- Sirena Watkins (Cape Central), Stefanie Ferguson (Poplar Bluff), Chelsea McDowell (Jackson), Kristin Hayes (Farmington).

Outfielders -- Paige Silverthorn (Sikeston), Jami Dement (Cape Central), Tabitha Martin (Poplar Bluff), Marissa Hoehn (Farmington).

Second team

Sikeston -- Beth Ziegenhorn

Cape Central -- Lindsey Greene, Bethany Sweet, Susie Edwards, Christina Sexton.

Poplar Bluff -- Jessica Minks, Julie Maloney, Savannah Mattingly, Alexa Hon.

Farmington -- Natalie Sago, Sonya Galloway.

Jackson -- Darla Mangels. Hillsboro -- Danielle Shackelford.