[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 91°F ~ Low: 72°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

Nobody asked me but . . .

Wednesday, November 16, 2005

Nobody asked me but...it is time for the first annual NAMB Awards. This award celebrates the best football player at each position. To the inventor, goes the spoils and what I saw out on the field this football season is who I thought deserved the NAMBY.

Please remember, I did not get to witness the play of Charleston, Sikeston, Kennett, Cape Central, Jackson and Poplar Bluff. The NAMBY only goes to the player that I personally saw. So calm down and take a deep breath.

Offensive Player of the Year -- Junior Kendrickus Reed of the Caruthersville Tigers. Reed ran for over 2,200 yards and led his team to the Class 2 playoffs. A 6-foot, 190-pound running back, was a load to bring down and has speed to burn.

Quarterback of the Year -- Senior Tanner Wolk of the Ste. Genevieve Dragons. Wolk led the Dragons to a birth in the Class 3 playoffs making it to the quarterfinals. Wolk threw for over 1,400 yards and rushed for over 600 yards. 2. Anthony Guyton; Hayti, Sr.

3. Josh Stevens; Dexter, Jr.

Running back of the year -- Reed of Caruthersville.

2. Paris Tipler; East Prairie, Jr.

3. Taylor Huck; Ste. Genevieve, Sr.

Wide receiver of the year -- Ryan Criglar from Malden. At 5-foot-10, 165 pounds, Criglar had 22 receptions for 521 yards with five touchdowns from his wing back position. In addition to his receiving duties for the Green Wave, Criglar gained over 1,000 yards on the ground while scoring eight touchdowns.

2. Rashad Fields; Caruthersville, So.

3. DeCarlos Wilkins; Hayti, Sr.

Tight end of the year -- Garrett Ditch of the Ste. Genevieve Dragons. Ditch had 32 receptions for 491 yards in the regular season and was a force over the middle for the Dragons. Ditch was also a beast at his defensive line position making 78 tackles in the regular season.

2. Josh Davis; Dexter, Sr.

3. Tony Jones; East Prairie, So.

Offensive lineman of the year -- Senior Jake Goforth from the North County Raiders. Goforth was a four-story building on the field with his impressive 6-

foot-4, 285 pound frame. Besides his size, Goforth was extremely quick off the football and used his leverage to carve out massive running lanes for the Raiders.

2. Brian Maslinski; Dexter, Sr.

3. William Cooper; Hayti, So.

Defensive player of the year -- Senior Printice Willis of the New Madrid County Central Eagles. Willis is a ferocious hitting linebacker for the Eagles who made big play, after big play for NMCC. At 6-foot-2, 210 pounds, Willis has the potential for Division I football. Willis had 94 tackles on the season; 12 for a loss, had 3 1/2 sacks and intercepted two passes.

Defensive lineman of the year -- Senior R.C. Strand from East Prairie. Strand was a stalwart on the line for the Eagles and had a season-high 15 tackles in one game from his defensive end position. Strand played with intensity on every snap and what was not known, was that Strand played with an injured ankle the entire season.

2. Evan Gibson; Caruthersville, Sr.

3. L.T. Sutton; So., NMCC

Linebacker of the year -- Willis of NMCC.

2. Austin Matthews; Dexter, Sr.

3. Mikey Lack; Caruthersville, Sr.

Defensive back of the year -- Junior Zach Secoy of the East Prairie Eagles. Secoy recorded five interceptions for the Eagles and had a season-high 12 tackles against Portageville.

Punter of the year -- Senior Justin Foushee from Dexter. Foushee averaged over 35 yards per punt and was a weapon to put opposing teams back deep in their own territory.

Coach of the year -- Corey Adkisson, head coach of the East Prairie Eagles. For the first time since 1994, the Eagles recorded a winning record going 5-4 under first-year coach Adkisson. The Eagles were a game away from reaching the Class 2 playoffs and the future is bright as most of the starters on offense and defense return next year.

2. Arlen Pixley; NMCC

3. Aaron Pixley; Dexter

Game of the year -- Caruthersville topped East Prairie 50-35 to decide the Class 2, District 1 title on Nov. 4. Reed ran wild for 379 yards on the ground while Tipler ran for over 140 yards and had over 80 yards receiving. A great game with a huge crowd from both towns who were extremely vocal for their team.

Best crowd support this season -- East Prairie

Best mascot -- Malden Green Wave. Question; what is a Green Wave? Don't know, but I like the originality and it sounds cool.

Best football facility -- North County. Love the sunken field.

And finally, nobody asked me but...teams to watch next season are Malden, Charleston, East Prairie and NMCC. Also watch for the Chaffee Red Devils. Write it down, next season Chaffee will notch at least one victory and break the long losing streak.

The Red Devils will probably win more than one game and will have an outstanding defensive line duo in Kippy Lawson and Brad Daugherty.