[Nameplate] Fair ~ 82°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 73°F
Saturday, Aug. 27, 2016

SEMO All-Conference teams are named

Wednesday, November 16, 2005

Tyler Baker
SIKESTON - The SEMO Conference released its all-conference teams in the three divisions on Wednesday.

The Sikeston Bulldogs placed five players on the SEMO North first team. Senior offensive lineman Craig Millington, senior wide receiver Robbie Howard, senior punter Tyler Baker, sophomore defensive tackle Robert Madison and junior linebacker Jerod Scott all were named to the first team.

Sikeston coach Jerry Dement was pleased with the players that were honored following the team's 1-9 season.

"We're pleased with their efforts and the awards they got," said Dement . "Obviously in a year that we struggled, it's hard to get very many kids on first team or in some cases second team all-conference. We're pleased with their awards and they're deserving of it."

Millington, a 6-foot-2, 270-pound offensive tackle, is the biggest lineman named to the all-conference team.

Robert Madison
"Craig was our best and most consistent offensive lineman," said Dement. "He put a lot of work in to improve himself."

Howard was the Bulldogs' top playmaker on both sides of the ball.

The 6-2 senior caught 33 passes for 334 yards with two touchdowns in eight games.

"Robbie was our leading receiver and he had a solid year," said Dement. "He was up and down at times but he played well in the conference games. We're happy for him."

Baker established himself as one of the top punters in the region as he averaged 36 yards per kick, including a long of 54 yards.

Jarod Scott
"Tyler was very consistent punting," said Dement. "He got the ball off real quick. He didn't get any blocked and he had very few returned on him."

Madison was one of many sophomores to start for the Bulldogs this year as he recorded 44 tackles with one quarterback sack.

"Robert has a lot of potential as a defensive lineman," said Dement.

"He had a very good year. He was our most consistent and leading tackler on the defensive line. That doesn't happen very often that a young guy has the year he had and gets recognized."

Scott missed the team's first three games with an injury, but he came on strong after returning and led the team in tackles with more than 60.

"Even though Jerod missed the first four games with injury, he ended up being our leading tackler," said Dement. "He really played well down the stretch."

Other Sikeston players that made the second team were: senior offensive lineman Joe Moore; senior wide receiver/defensive back Joey Williams; senior fullback Acie Dixon; defensive lineman Baker; junior linebacker Salamar Cox and senior defensive back B.J. Green.

In the SEMO Central, New Madrid County Central's resurgence helped them receive nine spots on the all-conference team.

The Eagles rebounded from a 1-9 season to go 7-3 this year and a second place conference finish. Patrick Guest was named an all-conference offensive tackle, defensive tackle and kicker for the Eagles.

Guest had 58 tackles with 8.5 sacks and 13 tackles for lost yardage this year.

"The Guest kid is a first-year player and we're real excited about him coming back," said NMCC coach Arlen Pixley. "He made it in three different areas as a defensive tackle, kicker and offensive lineman. He really improved with each week."

Also making it two ways was senior running back/linebacker Printice Willis. He rushed for 1,044 yards on 136 carries with 11 touchdowns. As a linebacker, he recorded 94 tackles with 12 for lost yards. He also had 3.5 sacks, two interceptions and four passes broken up.

Antonio McIntosh joined Willis as a first team linebacker as he led the team with 106 tackles and 17 for lost yards. He had three passes broken up and one fumble recovery.

McIntosh was named a second team running back after rushing for 854 yards with five touchdowns.

"There's two guys right there in McIntosh and Willis that both shared the load," said Pixley. "Either one could've gotten selfish and wanted the hype, but they were team players. Our goal was to have two 1,000-yard rushers. We almost attained that. It was a real fun year for those guys and our team and it was because of their unselfishness."

Senior Laterrence Newsome was selected as a first team defensive back with his 72 tackles and three interceptions.

"That's another guy that got better each week," said Pixley. "He started picking up the defense and he got real physical and made a name for himself."

Back on the offensive side of the ball, junior newcomer Tommy Rowe was instant offense for the Eagles.

Rowe scored eight touchdowns out of his 21 total touches. He rushed for 204 yards and had 193 receiving yards.

"We call him 'Touchdown Tommy,'" said Pixley. "I don't know what else you could say about him, but all he likes to do is score touchdowns."

Also making it was sophomore offensive guard L.T. Sutton.

"L.T. Sutton gutted it up for us up front and made things happen for us on offense," said Pixley.

Charleston had strong representation on the all-conference team as well with nine selections.

After rushing for 1,377 yards, Joseph Watts was named as a running back. Justin Clark and Jamarcus Williams were both named as wide receivers as they had 18 catches for 339 yards and 20 catches for 411 yards, respectively.

Brandon Gillespie and Dustin Allen were both named on the offensive line.

On defense, J.B. Small was named on the defensive line and Josh Marshall and Clark were both named as defensive backs.

Marshall had 60 tackles with four interceptions and Clark had 40 tackles with three interceptions.

In the SEMO South Division, East Prairie's first winning season since 1994 helped them get eight selections.

Paris Tipler and Dez Johnson both were named first team running backs. Tipler rushed for 1,759 yards on 162 carries, averaging an area-best 10.9 yards per carry. He also led the area in scoring with 31 touchdowns and 194 points.

Johnson overcame early-season injuries to rush for 896 yards with eight touchdowns.

"They had amazing seasons for us," said first-year East Prairie coach Corey Adkisson. "They both ran the ball extremely well. They had two different styles. Paris was more of a bruising, power runner whereas Dez was more of a scat-back. They both did a wonderful job for us."

Johnson also made first team linebacker.

Also making the team both ways was senior offensive and defensive lineman R.C. Strand.

"He played tremendous," said Adkisson.

"He was our only senior on the offensive and defensive line. He played most of the season with a partially torn bicep muscle. He did an amazing job for us and really stepped up his game this year."

Freshman Riley Hadenfelt was named a first team linebacker and junior defensive back Zach Secoy was also selected.

"It's always good to get guys on first team all-conference," said Adkisson. "Wins and losses are more important, but it's good for these guys to get recognized. It makes them appreciate their hard work and hopefully they'll work harder for next year."

In addition to his players being honored, Adkisson was named the SEMO South's co-coach of the year along with Hayti's Shawn Jackson.

"It's great to get that," said Adkisson. "It's voted on by the coaches and it's nice to get recognized by your peers. I would've taken winning the conference and I would give back the coach of the year award in a heartbeat."