[Nameplate] Fair ~ 81°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 73°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Elections for city positions finalized

Thursday, January 19, 2006

SIKESTON -- The wait is over for voters wondering who's running for expiring governmental positions in their towns.

Because Sikeston and Charleston are cities that have a possibility of primary elections, these filings ended Nov. 22. But for the rest of the municipalities, filing closed Tuesday for city council positions to be decided in the April 4 municipal election.

In Sikeston, incumbent Mike Marshall is unopposed in his race for a second three-year term as mayor. Wayne Morgan originally filed to run for mayor and withdraw from the race Jan. 4, citing previous commitments that he felt would prevent him from devoting time to performing the duties of mayor, according to Sikeston City Clerk Carroll Couch.

Incumbents Jim Terrell in Ward 2 and David Teachout in Ward 3 also have no opposition on the ballot for new terms on the City Council.

In Charleston, incumbents James D. Conn and Michael Jones will be joined on the ballot for the two Charleston City Council seats by challengers Jerry Rosson Sr. and Willie C. Carpenter Sr., according to City Clerk Marsha Hart.

Miner voters will decide between incumbent Mitch Thompson and challenger Betty Barnes for mayor. Filed in Ward 1 are incumbent Donna Thomas and Frank Tatum. Peggy Holman, Ward 2 alderman incumbent, has one challenger, Mark Thorne.

Running unopposed in East Prairie is Shirley Pritchett for Ward 1 since incumbent Billy Hatton didn't refile. Ward 3 incumbent Karen Coffer is also unchallenged. Competing for a two-year term in Ward 2 are Martha Clark and Kenny Walton. Incumbent Harold Lemmons didn't seek re-election.

New Madrid voters will choose between Judy Taylor, Dick Bodi and Phil Pfuehler for the Ward 1 alderman seat of incumbent Richard St. Mary, who is not running for office. Ward 2 incumbent Russell Riggs is running unopposed. Brad Kolwyck and Harold Allred have filed for Ward 3; incumbent Glen Medlin is not seeking re-election. Also running unopposed are incumbents Donnie Brown for mayor, Bill Boyd for police judge, Sherry Phillips for city collector and Claude McFerren for chief of police.

Matthews voters will decide between Eddie Polk and Freddy Daniels for its Ward 1 alderman as incumbent Elaine Vandiver opted not to seek re-election. Due to the death of Ward 2 Alderman Harlan Gilmer in July, Ray Mills was appointed to fill the term until the April election. Filing for the remaining one-year term are Mills and Rodney Dunlap. Another Ward 2 alderman position -- a two-year term -- is up for grabs in Matthews. Incumbent Bud Armstrong filed, and he has two opponents, Armand Porter and Donald Spraggs.

Running without opposition in Betrand are Ward 1 incumbent James Baker and Ward 2 incumbent Stephen McConkey.

Also, running without opposition in Benton are incumbent Ward 1 alderman Geri Hennemann and Ward 2 incumbent Jim Arteme.

In Anniston, Ward 1 incumbent Betty Jackson is running unopposed. In Ward 2, LaDonna Reno is running without opposition for a two-year term. Linda Abner and Clifton Henshaw are both running for the one-year unexpired term.

Running unopposed for Morehouse Ward 1 alderman is Donna Brashears. Incumbent Evelyn Comstock didn't seek re-election. In Ward 2, incumbent Jackie Hays Sr. is unchallenged.

In Oran, Marcia Roslen, the incumbent city collector, is running unopposed. There is a three-way race for mayor: incumbent Tom Urhahn, Ronnie Diebold Jr. and Ben Evans. Incumbent Harold Landewee is being challenged by Bill G. Senciboy for Ward 1 alderman. Since Ward 2 incumbent Ronnie Diebold Jr. is running for mayor, voters will decide between two candidates, Gil Roslen and Mike McVay. Ward 3 incumbent Jimmy Westrich will compete against Raydean Hanselman, and Ward 4 incumbent Gaylon Bryeans II has no opposition.

Filing for the two-year term as mayor of Lilbourn are incumbent Frank Ash and Dale Ray. Ward 1 alderman incumbent Robert Taylor is being challenged by Johnny R. Baker and Danny Sprouse while Ward 2 alderman Alvin Bobo is being challenged by Dan Ruark. Running without opposition in Lilbourn are incumbent Yvonne Morgan, city collector; incumbent Dennis Young, city marshal; and Richard Kolowyck, municipal judge.

In Portageville, Ward 2 alderman incumbent Kathy Klipfel will square off against Rodi Walker and Ward 1 alderman Rick Rhoads is unchallenged. Municipal court judge Bill Foster is also unopposed.

Wyatt Mayor Donald Williams filed for re-election and will face Joey Cross and Riley Fitzgerald Jr. in the election. Ward 1 incumbent David Stephens is challenged by Tracy Cossey while Ward 2 incumbent Robert Dugan Sr. is being challenged by Mitch Pullen.

Incumbents Richard Riley and Kenny Plunk will face no opposition as members of the Blodgett Board of Alderman.

Gideon voters will choose one of following three candidates as their mayor: Lawrence Jordan, Lee Downing and Ron Wilburn. Incumbent Louise Shock didn't refile. James Pickard, the chief of police incumbent, is being challenged by Tommy Goings. North Ward Alderman incumbent Eric Johnson has one opponent, Scott Earnheart. South Ward Alderman incumbent Cleo Payne didn't file again. Wendell Causey, Jerry Skidmore and Heather Pickard are vying for Payne's spot on the city council.

Morley mayor Hallie Greenville is retiring. Voters will choose a new mayor from the following candidates: Sheila Scherer, Earl Woods, Rich Ivester and Kerry Tidwell. Ward 1 incumbent Tony Lackey and Ward 2 incumbent Ron Thomas are unopposed.