[Nameplate] Fair ~ 91°F  
Feels like: 98°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

Former Portageville star earns honor

Sunday, March 26, 2006

PLANO, Texas - McNeese State senior and former Portageville High School standout J. T. Williams has been named to the first team all-Southland Conference basketball team while teammate Dwight Boatner was named to the third team.

The Cowboys will begin play in the O'Reilly Auto Parts/Southland Conference basketball tournament on Tuesday in Nacogdoches, TX against Stephen F. Austin.

Williams, a 6-foot-5 native of Portageville, led the Cowboys in scoring with a 15.8 point per game average and is second in rebounding with a 5.5 mark. He was also tops in blocked shots with 22 and is one of the conference leaders in three point goals made.

Boatner, a native of Lake Charles, ranks second on the team in scoring with a 13.4 average and leads in steals with 55 in 19 games.

The Cowboys also had sophomore John Ford and junior Quentin Gonzales receive honorable mentions on the team.

Heading up the all-SLC team is Southeastern Louisiana's Ricky Woods who was named player of the year. He ranks third in scoring at 17.9 points per game and leads the league in rebounding with 11.0 a contest. He is the lone Southland player averaging a double-double on the year. The 6-6 forward is third in blocked shots at 1.7 an outing and fifth in steals with 2.11. Woods also ranks 12th in field-goal percentage at 48.7 percent aim.

Joining Woods on the first team are Northwestern State's Clifton Lee, Lamar's Alan Daniels, Sam Houston State's Chris Jordan and McNeese State's Williams. Daniels and Woods are now two-time picks after landing on the first team in 2005 as well.

SHSU's Jejuan Plair has been voted the Newcomer of the Year as he leads the league in assists with 5.5 per game and is 18th in scoring at 11.6.

Freshman of the Year accolades go to Stephen F. Austin's Josh Alexander as he is the top-ranked rookie with a 14.5 point average to place him seventh in the scoring column. The Shreveport, La., native is ninth in rebounding with 6.2 despite playing as a 6-4 guard.

Northwestern State's Mike McConathy has been voted Coach of the Year for the second time in as many seasons. After not winning an SLC regular-season title in the school's first 17 years in the league, McConathy, who is in his seventh year at Northwestern, has led the Demons to back-to-back crowns.