[Nameplate] Fair ~ 82°F  
High: 88°F ~ Low: 61°F
Wednesday, Aug. 31, 2016

Business Briefcase 3/16

Saturday, March 15, 2008

ATLANTA -- The U.S. Small Business Administration reminds businesses that March 31 is the filing deadline for federal economic injury disaster loans that are available to small businesses in New Madrid and Pemiscot counties as a result of damages and losses to crops caused by extreme drought conditions and high heat beginning May 1.

"These counties are eligible because they are contiguous to one or more primary counties in the State of Tennessee," said Frank Skaggs, director of SBA Field Operations Center East.

Eligible businesses may qualify for loans up to $1.5 million, available at a 4 percent interest rate with loan terms up to 30 years.

Those interested should call SBA's Customer Service Center, 1-800-659-

2955 from 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. Monday through Friday and 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturday and Sunday.

Applications can also be downloaded from www.sba.gov.

SULLIVAN -- The merger between First State Community Bank (FSCB) and Progress Bank of Missouri (Progress Bank) was completed on Feb. 29. First State Community Bank is owned by First State Bancshares, Inc., which owns and operates 27 banks in 21 communities throughout southeast and east-

central Missouri.

"We are excited that the conversion process is now complete, and we can focus our energy on bringing First State's community banking approach to our newest markets," said Lee Keith, Regional President. "As a result of this merger, we are looking forward to being able to offer added convenience, even more financial products and the same exceptional service our customers enjoy today."

"Progress Bank provided an ideal partnership for First State Community Bank, and this merger provides a natural extension into our existing community banking organization. We are pleased to welcome five high quality banks with a strong community focus to the First State Community Bank family of banks," said Greg Allen, President & Chief Executive Officer of First State Bancshares and Vice-Chairman and Chief Executive Officer.

FSCB is owned and operated by First State Bancshares, Inc., a financial services holding company with approximately $936 million in total assets based in Farmington. FSCB locations are in Farmington, Bonne Terre, Cape Girardeau, DeSoto, Fredericktown, Hayti, Hillsboro, Ironton, Malden, Owensville, Park Hills, Perryville, Portageville, Potosi, Sikeston, St. Mary, Sullivan, Terre du Lac, Warrenton, Washington and Wright City.

For information about FSCB, consumers should contact a local bank representative or log onto www.fscb.com.