[Nameplate] Fair ~ 82°F  
High: 88°F ~ Low: 68°F
Tuesday, Aug. 30, 2016

Filing closes for county offices

Wednesday, March 29, 2006

BENTON -- All but one of the local county offices up for election will be decided in the August primary.

Filing for county offices closed Tuesday.

In Scott County, David C. Mann, incumbent circuit judge for Division 5, will face Scott T. Horman on the Democratic primary ballot in August.

Jamie Burger, presently serving his second term as second district commissioner, will also see his race for presiding county commissioner decided this August in the primary election as his opponent, Glenn Pinkerton, also filed as Democrat for the seat.

The incumbent presiding county commissioner, Martin Priggel, is not seeking a third term.

Scott County incumbents running without opposition for new terms are: Paul R. Boyd, prosecuting attorney; Rita Milam, county clerk; Glenda K. Enderle, treasurer; Mark Hensley, collector; Thomas R. Dirnberger, recorder; Pam Glastetter, circuit clerk; and Hense Winchester, circuit judge for Division 4 (probate division). All are Democrats.

In Mississippi County, incumbent Recorder Judy Rolwing will first face fellow Democrat Anna Ferrell in August. The winner will be up against Republican Melinda Nelson for the November election.

All other candidates for Mississippi County offices filed as Democrats.

Jim Blumenberg, presiding commissioner, is facing three challengers for another term: Clark Dugan, Jack Feezor and Dr. Donald Raithel.

Incumbent Prosecuting Attorney Darren Cann is up against challenger Rob Barker on the August ballot while incumbent Karen Turley now has a race with Leigh Ann Colson for the circuit clerk position.

Incumbents filed for new terms without opposition are: Junior DeLay, county clerk; Sandra DeField, treasurer; Faye Elliott, collector; and T. Lynn Brown, associate circuit judge.

A last minute filing created one race in the primary in New Madrid County.

John Wescoat filed late Tuesday as a Democratic candidate for presiding commissioner. He will face incumbent Clyde M. Hawes in the August primary.

New Madrid County incumbents who filed for re-election include: Marsha Meatte-Holiman, clerk of the circuit court; Clement Cravens, county clerk; Lewis H. Recker, prosecuting attorney; Brian Mauk, auditor; Ann Evans Copeland, recorder; Dewayne Nowlin, collector; and Charles Spitler, associate circuit judge. All filed as Democrats.

According to the unofficial filing listings from the Missouri Secretary of State's Web site, Eighth District Representative Jo Ann Emerson will not have opposition in the Republican primary.

On the Democratic ticket, however, three individuals have filed. Veronica J. Hambacker of Salem, Gene Curtis of Matthews and E. Earl Durnell of Cabool are seeking their party's nomination.

Also filed for the Eighth District post is Libertarian Branden C. McCullough of Cape Girardeau.

There is a Republican and a Democrat filed to seek the office of 159th District representative. On the Republican ticket is Billy Pat Wright of Dexter while the Democratic candidate is Boyce Wooley, also of Dexter.

For the 160th District Representative seat currently held by Peter Myers, Ellen Brandom of Sikeston has filed as a Republican while Larry Tetley of Sikeston has filed on the Democratic ticket.

The 161st District Representative seat, presently held by Lanie Black, has two candidates seeking the post. Gary Branum of New Madrid has filed on the Republican ticket and Steve Hodges of East Prairie is listed for the Democrats.

Black and Myers can not seek re-election due to term limits.