[Nameplate] Fair ~ 95°F  
Feels like: 101°F
Tuesday, Aug. 30, 2016

Long-awaited road approved

Wednesday, September 5, 2007

SIKESTON -- The strip of land between the old Elk's Lodge and Al's Reefer Service will finally become a real road.

City Council members took action to establish and build the road during the regular Sikeston City Council meeting held Tuesday due to the Labor Day holiday Monday.

Council members first approved an emergency bill accepting the donation of a tract of land connecting Highway 60 and County Line Road for the extension of Harlene Street to the north side of Highway 60. The ordinance was adopted as an emergency measure so the improvement to Harlene could begin immediately.

The Council then approved a change order to add the construction of this road section to the 2007 Street Program at an estimated cost of $54,555.

Council members and other city officials noted area motorists have waited a long time to see a road built there.

In other business during Tuesday's meeting:

* Mayor Mike Marshall said the "bridge summit" to highlight the need to replace bridges over the Mississippi and Ohio rivers at Cairo, Ill., scheduled for 7 p.m. Sept. 18 at the Clinton Community Building is a very important meeting.

The bridge connecting Missouri to Illinois there is "the most dangerous bridge between Minneapolis and New Orleans across the Mississippi River," he said. "It is high time it gets replaced."

Legislators at both the federal and state level from Missouri and neighboring states are invited, Marshall said.

* Council awarded the bid for replacing the metal roof on the east office building at the Department of Public Works complex to the lower of two bidders, Premium Roofing.

In addition to 24-gauge metal roofing, guttering and insulation options were also approved for a total of $42,903.40.

Also bidding was Pyramid Roofing.

The Council also awarded the bid for replacing the flat rubber roof on the north warehouse building at the DPW complex to Premium Roofing which had the lower bid at $27,104.

Also bidding was Pyramid Roofing who offered to do the job for $36,810.

* A proclamation was signed by Marshall naming Sept. 6 as "World War II Honor Tour Day" in recognition of all Sikeston's World War II veterans along with those who will leave Thursday for an all-expenses paid tour of the National World War II Memorial at the National Mall in Washington, D.C.

* Shad Old presented information on the success of the first Community Cowboy Cookoff Contest barbecue event held Aug. 11 as well as plans for the next one which will possibly include adding a bluegrass music festival to the event.

"I'm already looking forward to next year," Old said.

* The first day to file for the at-large Council position presently held by Sue Rogers is Oct. 16, according to City Clerk Carroll Couch.

The last day to file is Nov. 20.

* The sale of surplus property located at 608 Dempster acquired through a tax sale was approved.

* The following appointments to the city's boards and commissions were made:

Ed Swinney, new alternate member to Board of Adjustments; Scott Jenkins and B. Scott Kiesling (reappointments) and Ronald Galemore (new appointment), Board of Appeals; Edward Wirth, reappointment to Housing Authority; Brian Menz and David Ziegenhorn, reappointments to LCRA Commission; Jackie Cowan and Marilyn Barkett (reappointments) and Greg Colwick (new appointment), Library Board; Tim Underwood and Scott Jenkins (reappointments) and Shad Old (new appointment), Park Board; Onethia Williams, new appointment to Planning and Zoning Commission; David Sloan, Jim McClure and Matt Tanner, reappointments to Public Safety Advisory Board; Dan Marshall, Carolyn Tetley and B. Scott Kiesling (reappointments) and Shirlee Harris (new appointment), Rental Ordinance Appeals Board; Kathy Anglin, Jackie Cowan and Freida Cardwell (reappointments) and Kathryn Teachout (new appointment), SAHEC Advisory Board; Cindy Friend (reappointment) and Mike Marsh and Lynne Williams (new appointments), Sikeston-Miner Convention and Visitors Bureau Advisory Board; and Larry Braden (reappointment) and Mike Ziegenhorn (reappointment, alternate member), Traffic Committee.

Oath of office ceremonies are scheduled for 8 a.m. Sept. 24 and at 5 p.m. Oct. 1.