[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 73°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

City races finalized for ballot

Thursday, January 18, 2007

SIKESTON -- City races were finalized Tuesday as filing for the April municipal election came to an end.

Miner residents will choose between two candidates for city collector: incumbent Ellen Davis and resident Sue Shackles. The positions is for a four-

year term. Two alderman positions are open, and incumbents Justin Medley and Marlene Anglin filed for re-election. Also filing were Deloris Smith against Anglin, and Sandra Wright against Medley.

Three seats on New Madrid's Board of Alderman are up for grabs with each race contested. Ward 1 incumbent Howard Crisler will face Dale Hampton. Ward 2 incumbent Dwayne Stanley will be challenged by Chuck Morris, Kevin Lyons and Ann Lawrence. In Ward 3, Larry Tollison and Carlotta Kosky will battle for the open seat left by incumbent Margaret Palmer who chose not to seek re-election. All positions are for two-year terms.

All five of East Prairie's open seats are already filled as no one is facing a challenger. Refiling were incumbents Mayor Gene Ditto, City Collector Mary Anne Mainord, Ward 2 alderman Keith Grissom and Ward 3 alderman Kyle Hutcheson. Newcomer Charles Fann filed for Ward 1 alderman; current Ward 1 alderman Steve Myers didn't seek re-election. All are for two-year terms.

In Matthews, for Ward 2 alderman, voters will choose between incumbent Ray Mills and Donald Spraggs. Ward 1 alderman incumbent Jimmy Burch is unopposed in his bid for the two-year term.

Several positions are open in Morehouse. Filing for mayor were incumbent Pete Leija and Karen Williams, who is the current city collector. Filing for city collector, which is a four-year position, were Judy Gosnell Green, Jackie W. Hays Sr., Roxie Geiler and Beth Massey. Stan Harmon and Beth Denning will face off for the Ward 1 alderman and unopposed for Ward 2 alderman is Darla Laminack. These positions are for two years. Running unopposed are incumbents City Marshal Jackie Hays Jr. and City Judge Angela Webb.

In Bertrand, Mayor Charles McKinley refiled and will face Billy "Bill" Meeks in the upcoming election. Two alderman seats were open, and filing for Ward 1 alderman were incumbent Danny Freeland and resident Bruce Groves. In the Ward 2 alderman race, incumbent Dennis R. Quertermous is unopposed. The positions are for two-year terms.

In Morley there are three alderman-at-large positions available. Running unopposed for the two two-year positions are incumbent Sammy Slipis and Joe Williams. Larry Jackson and Earl Woods Jr. will battle it out for the one-

year position.

Running unopposed in Benton are incumbents Joe Stuckey for mayor of Benton, Beverly Riley for city collector, Howard Bollinger for Ward 1 alderman and David Mack for Ward 2 alderman.

Lilbourn also has unopposed races. Ward 1 alderman incumbent Larry Jackson filed and so did Ward 2 incumbent Mike Roberts. The positions are for two-year terms.

Portageville Mayor J.D. Patton's term will expire in April, and he chose not to file for re-election. Lynn Doering, Jay Sproat, Denis McCrate and Bud Sisson will vie for the two-year position. Ward 1 alderman incumbent Vince Berry will face James "Butch" Williams. Incumbents running unopposed are Ervin Gremard, Ward 2 alderman; and Michelle Crawford, city collector.

Oran voters will decide three of the four races. In Ward 1 alderman incumbent Ed Evans will face challenger Ronnie Diebold Sr. Four people will compete for the Ward 2 seat. They are Gil Roslen, Ronnie Diebold Jr., Richard Johns and Donald Harris. Incumbent Leroy Eftink didn't file for re-election. Ward 3 incumbent Brenda Cook is running unopposed. Duranda Cochran and Danny Forehand are candidates for the Ward 4 position. Incumbent Earl Johns didn't seek re-election.