[Nameplate] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 83°F ~ Low: 61°F
Thursday, Sep. 1, 2016

East Prairie resident among top honorees during VNA banquet

Sunday, December 24, 2006

The Hospice Volunteer of the Year Is Brenda Daugherty.
SIKESTON - The Visiting Nurse Association of Southeast Missouri acknowledged the contributions of key staff recently during the Annual Awards Banquet.

Professional caregivers from all 14 counties of VNA's service area gathered in Sikeston at the Clinton Building to recognize the accomplishments of their co-workers.

Teresa McCulloch, CEO, welcomed those attending. She commented briefly on the agency's accomplishments in 2006 and the vision for the coming year.

Thanking them for all of their hard work and dedication throughout the past year, McCulloch noted that the happiness and safety of much of Southeast Missouri is in the hands of VNA staff as they go about their day-to-day activities of helping the aged and ill at home.

"We have over 800 employees who give their all to each patient and client they serve, meet new challenges every day and make a gigantic difference in the lives of so many seniors and their families. You will see by the number of employees who have been here five, 10, 15, 20, 25 and even 30 years that you are loyal, experienced caregivers," she said.

Private Dute Employee of the Year is Lela Riley of Sikeston.
Top honors were given to the Chief Financial Officer Shonda Young of Caruthersville with the presentation of the Jackson L. Burke Excellence in Home Care Award. The award honored the leadership she provides throughout the organization.

Thanks to Ms. Young, VNA received national recognition this year due, in part, to her office's financial performance. VNA is now listed in the top tier of home care agencies in the United States: HomeCare Elite 2006. Other deciding factors in being named to this recognition are quality of care and improvement of over all performance during the past year. This puts VNA of SeMo in the top 25 percent of homecare agencies in the United States.

The Warren Manning Commitment to Service Award was given to Sue Chatman of East Prairie, branch office manager of the Sikeston/Cape Girardeau Region, in recognition of the outstanding accomplishments she is making as VNA continues moving toward a paperless system of patient record-keeping and homecare visit documentation. The new system will protect patient information in the event of any disaster as well as improve communication among all providers of care, including the patients' private physicians.

The Layton Pickard Memorial Award was given to Sally Burke of Charleston. Burke has served voluntarily on the VNA Governing Board since 1988.

The Missouri Council for In-home Services recognized Teresa McCulloch, RN, BSN, CEO of Steele with the 2006 Leadership Award for dedication and valuable service to the In-home industry. Charyl Smith of Sikeston was also recognized by the Missouri Council for In-Home Services with the 2006 Caregiver of the Year Award.

Key Employees of the Year from five VNA programs were recognized.

VNA Home Health Employee of the Year is Lana Nash from Holcomb, total care manager of the Kennett/New Madrid Region. VNA Hospice Employee of the Year is Wilma Wright, social worker from Bernie. The Hospice Volunteer of the Year is Brenda Daugherty of Portageville. VNA Private Duty Employee of the Year is Lela Riley of Sikeston. VNA Community Services Employee of the Year is Glena Scott of Gobbler and In-Home Nurse of the Year is Sheila Baxter of Bernie.

Named as Homecare Aides of the Year for their respective service areas were: Tabitha Hyde of Kennett, Nedra Tucker of Dexter and Sharon Washer of Benton. VNA Home Medical Equipment Employee of the Year is Brian Jenkins of Campbell. Awarded Administrative Support Employee of the Year was Rhonda White of Holcomb.

Home Health Commitment to Excellence went to Leisa Miller of Caruthersville for the southern area; Shawna Wingo of Poplar Bluff for the western area; Leisa Siever of Jackson for the northern region.

Several special awards in recognition of special accomplishments were also made. CEO Choice: Together We Succeed Award was given to Carol DeGraw of Kennett. CEO Choice: You're Perfect Award was given to Lee Smith of Malden. Get It Done Award went to Janice Pittman of Malden, and the Lucky Us Award was given to Tammy Gibson of Senath.

Years of Service Awards were:

30 years: Betsy McGee of Clarkton and Lee Smith of Malden.

25 years: Diane Chappell and Helen Sander, both of Sikeston.

20 years: Lee Ann Forbus of Holcomb and Bertha Jackson and Linda Penman, both of Marston.

15 years: Betty Crider and Montene Watkins of Sikeston; Brenda Evans, Iris Halterman and Sandra Jackson of Dexter; Shelly Crane of Rector, Ark.; Mary Davis of Holcomb; Mary Farmer of Charleston; Rosie Larry of Hayti; Marie Pyland of Campbell; and, Mae Lou Scott of New Madrid.

10 years: Sue Chatman, Linda Stokes, Linda Williams, Emma Adams, Coleen Pu, Patricia Clark, Patricia Gramlisch, Amy Stafford, Patricia Fitzgerald, Ola Gilky, Anita Holmes, Reecie Borders, and Vickie Farrar.

Five years: Amy Cato, Apryl Craft, Laura Hargrove, Debbie Lewis, Cindy Moore, Jennifer Nunnery, Diane Shands, Missy Wheatley, Shirley Chambers, Candy Grice, Lubertha Ellis, Kathleen Guthrie, Sarah Haynes, Betty Hines, Sheila Hughes, Alexia Jordan, Aretha Kent, Amy Moore, Robin Roberts, Nellie Robinson, Julia Tate, Christine Barnes, Debbie Carr, Sherrie Hopkins, Karen King, Pamela Lacy, Betty Ross, Tina Anderson, Bobbie Boyd, Rose Childress, Barbara Harrison, Debbie Isaaks, Elizabeth Ivy, Sherlyn Mason, Nancy Patton, Dorothy Perkins, Patricia Renfro, Jackie Summers, Shelba Vinson and Ginger Whitfield.

VNA Community Services Homecare Aides of the Month for the past year were recognized from each region.

Homemakers of the Month from the southern region were Mamie Jenkins, Brandy Cross, Peggy Duty, Penny Patterson, Dorothy Perkins, Patricia Gorman, Nina Stark, Casey Jameson, Terressa Gorman, Nancy Whitfield, Tabitha Hyde and Veronica Luster.

Homecare Aides of the Month from the western region were Linda Lou Boehl, Shelly Sisson, Nedra Tucker, Norma Geer, Debbie Murphy, Audrey Jackson, Londa Barnett, Demetra Ford, Debbie Parr, Terry Coleman, Pauline Dunne and Yvette Bridges.

Homecare Aides of the Month from the Northern region were Virginia Kirby, Alexia Jordan, Wanda Mangels, Betty Umfleet, Charity Davis, Susanne James, Wanda Mangels, Kathleen Atchison, Vanessa Ray, Mary Sharkey, Melissa Garnett, Terry Niswonger and Sharon Washer.