[Nameplate] Fair ~ 82°F  
High: 88°F ~ Low: 68°F
Tuesday, Aug. 30, 2016

Voters nix law enforcement tax

Wednesday, April 4, 2007

BENTON -- Scott County voters decided not to make the countywide half-cent law enforcement sales tax permanent during Tuesday's municipal election. In a tight race, 1,658 residents voted in favor of the sales tax while 1,923 voted against the measure.

Presiding Commissioner Jamie Burger said he knew it was going to be a close vote.

"Naturally, I hoped it would have passed," Burger said after hearing the results. "A sales tax benefits everyone in the county . . . but voters spoke, and we'll have to see what options we have."

According to Scott County Clerk Rita Milam's office, 3,722 of the county's 25,085 registered voters -- or 15 percent -- cast ballots in the election.

The following results of city and school board elections, which were provided by Milam's office, are unofficial.

In the Sikeston race for city council at-large position, voters chose Mike Bohannon, 746 votes, over Matthew M. Tanner, 462 votes. When added with the New Madrid County vote, Bohannon had 790 votes and Tanner, 495.

Sikeston incumbents Jerry D. Pullen, Ward 1, and Michael K. Harris, Ward 4, were both unopposed for new terms as their ward representatives on the Council.

Pullen received 563 votes, and Harris nabbed 107 votes.

Larry Tetley edged out Reggie Stotts for the single three-year term as director for the Sikeston Special Road District, 825 votes to 702 votes.

In Miner, City Collector Ellen Davis will retain her position. She defeated Sue Shackles in the race for the four-year term in the office, 176 votes to 103 votes.

Miner's Ward 1 voters ousted incumbent Marlene Anglin, 66 votes, by voting in Deloris Smith, 98 votes, for their representative. In Ward 2, Janet Williams, a declared write-in candidate, defeated Justin Medley 67 votes to 46 votes. In the Sikeston R-6 Board of Education race, incumbent Paul H. Boyd received 988 Scott County votes and 99 New Madrid County votes to retain his position on the board while incumbent Mary White-Ross fell short with 803 Scott County votes and 104 New Madrid County votes. Newly elected to the board was Scott Crumpecker, who nabbed 861 Scott County votes and 297 New Madrid County votes.

In Benton, all listed candidates were incumbents running unopposed for new terms in office. They were Mayor Joe Stuckey, 72 votes; City Collector Beverly Riley, 87 votes; Ward 1 Alderman Howard Bollinger, 28 votes; and Ward 2 Alderman David Mack, 56 votes.

Blodgett's voters had three candidates for the three two-year terms on their Board of Trustees: Phil Deason, 25 votes; Ruby Ann Hurst, 23 votes; and Mike Riley, 22 votes.

Diehlstadt had three open positions on its Board of Trustees but no candidates listed on the ballot. There were three write-ins for the positions, and their names were unavailable at press time.

Six candidates competed for three open positions on the Kelly school board, which includes portions of Scott and Mississippi counties. The following Scott County votes were received: John Felter, 226; Kindel Ward, 209; Tony Powell, 187; Janet Lee Kline, 187; Tammy Wadlington, 143; and Gary Wallace, 64. No votes were cast in Mississippi County leaving Felter and Ward the winners.

Morley had two candidates to fill the two at-large alderman terms: Sammy Slipis, 51 votes; and Joe Williams, 59 votes. Larry Jackson, 34 votes, defeated Earl Woods, 8 votes, for the Ward 2 position.

Morley voters also decided against increasing their city sales tax by a half cent for a total of 1 cent with 43 no votes to 35 yes votes.

Vanduser had three candidates, Michael W. Hargrove, 25 votes; Gary Owens, 23 votes; and Timothy C. Graviett, 22 votes, for three positions on its Board of Trustees.

In Haywood City, there were three terms open on the Board of Trustees but only two candidates: Henry Earl Stevens, 29 votes; and Curtis Avance, 28 votes. A write-in whose name was unavailable received 9 votes. In the race for the two Scott County Central School District board positions, Steve Johnson, 132 votes, and Linda Williams, 82 votes, were chosen over Lynn Hubbert, 76 votes, and Denise Arthur, 62 votes. Tony Lackey was the sole candidate listed for an unexpired two-year term on the school board. He received 172 votes.

Oran voters elected a new Ward 1 representative, Ronald L. Diebold Sr., 21 votes. He defeated incumbent Ed Evans, 11 votes.

Winning the Ward 2 race was Ron Diebold Jr., 53 votes, over Gil Roslen, 38 votes; Donald Harris, 31 votes; and Richard Johns, 2 votes. Incumbent Brenda Cook was unopposed in her bid for another term in Ward 3. She netted 38 votes. In Ward 4, voters opted for Danny Forehand, 21 votes, over Duranda Cochran, 10 votes.

In the Oran R-3 School District, voters chose Thomas Seyer, 272 votes, and Wilfred "Will" Bucher, 192 votes, for the two positions followed by Judi Henson, 166 votes.

Loretta "Retta" Mohorc is Chaffee's new mayor, nabbing 314 votes. Mohorc defeated Jesse Jack Nordin, 275 votes; Ronald E. Davis, 74 votes; and Hope M. Huey, 23 votes.

In Chaffee's Ward 1, Jaeson Fraser, 97 votes, was unopposed.

Incumbent Debbie Eichhorn, 71 votes, was elected for another term as Chaffee's Ward 2 representative, defeating Douglas Sutterfield, 40 votes; and Jerry A. Childers, 64 votes.

Ronald Moyers is Chaffee's new Ward 3 representative. He received 98 votes, beating incumbent Billy Dysinger, 46 votes; and Dean L. Foulk, 20 votes. Incumbent Tom Cunningham, 134 votes, defeated Larry Sprenger, 53 votes, for his Ward 4 position.

Kelso had three two-year positions open on its Board of Trustees and only two candidates listed on the ballot: Donald K. Reinagel, 39 votes; and Bruce D. Beggs, 40 votes. A write-in candidate whose name was unavailable received 29 votes for the third position.

In Scott City, Mike Ellison, 56 votes, was the only candidate seeking the Ward 1 seat. LeAnn Wilthong is the new Ward 2 representative, defeating incumbent John Crail 42 votes to 31 votes. Robert Tyler, 45 votes, was unopposed for another term in Ward 3. Also unopposed in his bid for the Ward 4 seat was Larry Taylor, who netted 24 votes.

Commerce had two positions open on its Board of Trustees and only two candidates: Bill Bailey, 17 votes; and Lois Lee Ramsey, 13 votes.

Scott City R-1 voters chose Debbi Miller and David Gene Thompson to fill the two vacant positions on the school board. Each received 136 votes over opponents Lisa Schaeffer, 133 votes; and Terry Johnston, 79 votes.

Finally, voters within the Scott County Rural Fire Protection District chose Jimmy L. Hovis, 140 votes, over Robert Kennedy, 87 votes, to serve as a board member.