[Nameplate] Fair ~ 91°F  
Feels like: 102°F
Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2016

Nobody asked me but...

Wednesday, November 15, 2006

Nobody asked me but...the NAMB Awards for high school football has come around for its second installment.

Remember, these are just the players that I've seen in person.

And away we go...

Offensive Player of the Year - for the second year in a row the award goes to Caruthersville's Kendrickus Reed. The dynamic Tiger running back eclipsed the 2,200 yard mark for rushing yards again in his senior year. Reed led his team to the Class 2 quarterfinals.

Ouarterback of the Year - Josh Stevens, Dexter. The strong-armed senior quarterback passed for 1,440 yards with 15 touchdowns and four interceptions. Stevens led his team to an 8-2 record.

Last year's winner - Tanner Wolk, Ste. Genevieve.

Running back of the year - Reed of Caruthersville.

Wide receiver of the year - Logan Swindle, Dexter. Swindle was a highlight reel at receiver for the Bearcats with 607 yards on 33 catches and had nine touchdowns in his senior campaign.

Last year's winner - Ryan Criglar, Malden.

Tight end of the year - Tim Stonecipher, Poplar Bluff. At 6-foot-2 and 190 pounds, Stonecipher ran precise routes and had 29 receptions for 518 yards with four touchdowns.

Last year's winner - Garrett Ditch, Ste. Gen.

Offensive lineman of the year - Henry Covington, Hayti. Covington was a monster on both sides of the football for the Indians. At 6-3, 305 pounds, Covington opened up massive holes for Hayti's running backs and despite his size, had extremely fast feet and good speed around the corners.

Last year's winner - Jake Goforth, North County.

Defensive player of the year - L.T. Sutton, New Madrid County Central. Sutton was a beast along the defensive line for an Eagles team that made the Class 3 sectionals after upsetting Dexter on the road.

Sutton ended the year with 82 tackles (24 for loss), 15 sacks and six forced fumbles.

Last year's winner - Printice Willis, NMCC.

Defensive lineman of the year - Sutton of NMCC.

Last year's winner - R.C. Strand, East Prairie.

Linebacker of the year - Dijuan Waters, NMCC. Waters emerged as a valuable defensive player for head coach Arlen Pixley. Waters (5-11, 205) ended the year with 91 tackles (14 for loss), four sacks, three forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries and a interception.

Last year's winner - Willis of NMCC.

Defensive back of the year - Corey Rowe, NMCC. Rowe (5-9, 195) had a stellar season at strong safety for the Eagles. Rowe ended the season with 62 tackles, 12 passes defended, six fumble recoveries, five interceptions and three sacks.

Last year's winner - Zach Secoy, East Prairie.

Coach of the year - Arlen Pixley, NMCC. Pixley led his team to the playoffs in a tough year off the field for the Eagle program. Through the adversity, the Eagles upset favored Dexter on the road and have a solid nucleus of players returning next season.

Only two years ago, NMCC went 1-9 under Pixley and many felt the program had reached rock bottom. My how things have changed for Pixley and the Eagles.

Game of the year - NMCC 34, Dexter 26 on Nov. 2, 2006.

And finally, nobody asked me but...on Aug. 23 of this year, I looked into my crystal ball to foresee the upcoming high school football season. The season is over, so let's see how I fared.

First, for my Barry Horowitz impersonation.

I predicted Caruthersville would win the Class 2, District 1 title and they did. Smiley face for me.

I predicted that NMCC would win the Class 3, District 1 title over Dexter in the last game of the year and they did. Smiley.

Finally, I predicted that Chaffee would win three games this football year and they did. Vegas baby, Vegas.

And now for the "what was I thinking?" part of the show.

I predicated West Plains would win the Class 4, District 1 title and they didn't. Cape Central won at 4-6. That's right, 4-6.

Finally, I predicted that East Prairie running back Paris Tipler would gain over 2,200 yards and win the Carr Trophy. Well, ahem, a running back did gain over 2,200 yards and will assuredly win the Carr Trophy. Unfortunately for East Prairie, that player resides in Caruthersville.