[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 71°F
Tuesday, Aug. 30, 2016

Changing of the guard

Friday, December 29, 2006

Scott County Presiding Commissioner Martin Priggel speaks during his retirement party.
BENTON -- After many years of service by familiar Scott County officials, changes at the county seat will take place with the coming of the new year.

Scott County officials and employees gathered Thursday to celebrate the accomplishments and bid farewell to two longtime officials.

A retirement party was held in the morning at the courthouse for Presiding Commissioner Martin Priggel and a farewell gathering in the afternoon at the Division 5 courtroom building for Judge David Mann.

Having served two terms for a total of eight years as presiding commissioner, Priggel declined to run for a third term.

Jamie Burger, currently the second district associate commissioner, was selected by voters during the August primary election to replace Priggel as presiding commissioner.

Judge David D. Mann, pictured second from the left, visits with local officials.
An appointment to fill Burger's unexpired term as associate county commissioner will be made by Gov. Matt Blunt.

The farewell party for Mann celebrated his nearly 28 years on the bench as the Circuit Court Division 5 judge.

Voters picked challenger Scott T. Horman over Mann on the Democratic ticket during the August primary election.

Mann will continue to serve as the municipal judge for the city of Miner.

Burger and Horman were sworn in to their new positions at 9 a.m. today by County Clerk Rita Milam.

Also sworn in to new terms were David A. Dolan, circuit judge for the 33rd District; Hense Winchester, Division 4 associate circuit judge; Pam Glastetter, circuit court clerk; Tom Dirnberger, recorder; Paul Boyd, prosecuting attorney; Mark Hensley, collector; Glenda K. Enderle, treasurer; and Milam, county clerk.

The newly-elected officials will officially take office on Jan. 1.