[Nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 90°F  
Feels like: 99°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Incumbent mayors keep their positions

Wednesday, April 4, 2007

CHARLESTON -- Mayors running for re-election in Mississippi County will keep their seats but not all incumbents did so well during municipal elections Tuesday.

With few contested races, the turnout was low as expected, according to County Clerk Junior DeLay, with only 14 percent of registered voters casting ballots.

Unofficial results are as follows:

* In the race to be Bertrand's mayor, incumbent Charles L. McKinley received 95 votes to retain his seat while challenger Billy "Bill" Meeks brought in 28.

Having received 21 votes, incumbent Danny Freeland lost his Ward 1 position in a close race to Bruce Groves who had 24 votes cast in his favor.

Incumbent Dennis R. Quertermous received 71 votes in his unopposed bid for another two-year term in Ward 2.

All the Bertrand terms are two years long.

* In the three-way race to be mayor of Anniston, voters picked incumbent Dessie D. Gross once again with 41 votes over Ricky Julius, who had 3 votes cast in his favor, and the declared write-in candidate, Debra Self, who got 21.

Incumbent Lena Brown got 21 votes in Ward 1, losing her seat in another close race to challenger Billy Julius who received 24.

James A. Knupp Sr. had 17 votes cast for him in his unopposed bid for the Ward 2 seat formerly occupied by Linda Abner who did not seek re-election.

The Anniston terms are all two years long.

* The only two candidates listed on the ballot for two open positions on the Charleston City Council, David Manker, who received 234 votes, and Jackie Whiteside, with 256, will both serve another three years.

The Council votes in one of their members to serve as the next mayor after each Council election, according to Manker. "Generally its the pro-tem," he said, which means it is likely to be James Conn.

* East Prairie Mayor Gene Ditto was also voted into another two-year term with 184 votes in his unopposed race.

Mary Anne Mainord, also unopposed on the ballot, will serve for another two years as city collector having received 192 votes.

The sole candidate listed on the ballot for Ward 1, Charles Fann brought in 58 votes. Fann will replace Steve Myers who did not file for another term.

In unopposed races for new two-year terms, incumbent Keith Grissom got 40 votes in Ward 2 and incumbent Kyle E. Hutcheson received 68 in Ward 3.

* In Wyatt's Ward 1, voters picked incumbent Dennis Hodges over challenger Joey Cross, 23 to 3.

Incumbent Bill Franklin received 17 votes in his unopposed Ward 2 race.

Wyatt's terms are for two years.

* In Wilson City's race for two Board of Trustee members, all write-in votes were tallied as there were no candidates listed on the ballot.

Charles Jackson, who got 9 votes, and Mildred Cross, who got 6, will get the two open seats. Also receiving write-in votes were Elvin Greer with 2 votes and Elsie Rodgers with 1.

* Dora Brown, the only candidate listed on the ballot for the two two-year Board of Trustee terms in Pinhook, received 5 votes. Vada Strayhorn will also get a seat having received 2 write-in votes.

* Incumbent LaWanda Douglas will serve another three-year term as director for District 6 of the county ambulance district with a 205 to 45 vote victory over challenger Ronnie Tatum.

In the county's school board races:

* Incumbents Carol Jane Burke, who got 528 votes, and Larry R. Smith, who brought in 379, will serve new three-year terms on the Charleston school board (District No. 1) having defeated challenger Lucille R. Cassell who received 245 votes.

* Voters chose one incumbent and one challenger for the East Prairie (District No. 2) school board.

Matthew Johnson will join the board having brought in the most votes, 243. Incumbent Tim Wagner will keep his seat having received 231 votes.

Avery Lynn Hutcheson received 189 votes and Carlla Turnbo, the other incumbent in the race, got 185.

The terms are for three years.

* Mississippi County voters cast no votes in the race for the Kelly school board (District No. 4 of Scott and Mississippi County), leaving the decisions to voters in Scott County.