[Nameplate] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 72°F
Saturday, Aug. 27, 2016

County races will be decided Tuesday

Friday, August 4, 2006

BENTON -- Scott County voters have two significant races lined up for county positions that will be decided during the primary election Aug. 8.

Incumbent David C. Mann will face challenger Scott T. Horman on the Democratic ballot for another term as Division 5's associate circuit judge. Mann has not faced an opponent for 26 years.

Jamie Burger, currently serving as an associate county commissioner, and Glenn A. Pinkerton are both running for Scott County's presiding county commissioner position as Democrats.

The incumbent, Martin Priggel, is not seeking another term.

Democrats David A. Dolan, circuit judge for the 33rd District, and Hense Winchester, Division 4 associate circuit judge, are unopposed in their bids for another term in office.

Other Scott County Democrats who will see new terms as they are both unopposed in the primary and have no candidates filed from other parties in the general election include: Pam Glastetter, circuit court clerk; Rita Milam, county clerk; Thomas R. Dirnberger, recorder of deeds; Paul R. Boyd, prosecuting attorney; Mark Hensley, collector of revenue; and Glenda K. Enderle, treasurer.

Several local races in Mississippi County will also be decided during the primary election while voters will have to wait until the November election for the final outcome on one county position.

Melinda Nelson has filed as a Republican to be Mississippi County's recorder of deeds. In November, she will face either Judy Rolwing, the incumbent, or Anna Ferrell who are both filed as Democrats for the position.

Incumbent Jim Blumenberg will face two opponents on the Democratic ballot for another term as presiding county commissioner in Mississippi County: Jack Feezor and Dr. Donald Raithel.

Incumbent Darren Cann will have one Democratic opponent, Rob Barker, in his first election to retain his position as Mississippi County's prosecuting attorney. Cann took the office in September 2004 after being appointed to the position by former Gov. Bob Holden when the preceding prosecutor, Jennifer B. Raffety, resigned to move out of state.

The incumbent circuit clerk in Mississippi County, Karen S. Turley, also has an opponent in the primary as Democrat Leigh Ann Colson is seeking the position.

Mississippi County Democrats who are unopposed for another term in office include: County Clerk Hubert DeLay Jr.; Collector Faye P. Elliot; Treasurer Sandra Smoot DeField; and Lynn Brown, associate circuit judge.

Dolan also appears on the Mississippi County Democratic ballot in his unopposed race for another term as circuit judge for the 33rd District.

Mississippi County Democrats will also choose a committeeman for the St. James Township. The choices are Bill Aycock and Marty Pullen.

With no contested local races to be decided in the Aug. 8 primary, voters picking up their party's ballot will make decision on state issues.

Candidates for county offices seeking re-election are all on the Democratic ballot. They are: Fred W. Copeland, circuit judge for the 34th Circuit; Charles Spitler, associate circuit judge; Clyde M. Hawes, presiding commissioner; Marsha Meatte Holiman, clerk of the circuit court; Clement Cravens, county clerk; Ann Evans Copeland, recorder of deeds; Lewis H. Recker, prosecuting attorney; Brian Mauk, county auditor; and Dewayne Nowlin, collector of revenue.

In other local races:

* Larry Tetley, as the only Democrat filed for state representative of the 160th district, has no opponents for the primary but in November will face Republican Ellen Brandom, who is unopposed in her party's primary election.

The incumbent, Peter Myers, can not run for re-election due to term limits.

* Republican Gary Branum has no opponents in his bid to appear on the November ballot for District 161's state representative.

In November, he will face Steve Hodges who is likewise unopposed for his party's nomination on the Democratic primary ballot.

Incumbent Lanie Black is ineligible for another term due to term limits.

* For 162nd state representative, Terry Swinger is seeking re-election on the Democratic ballot and will be unopposed in November.