[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 91°F ~ Low: 72°F
Sunday, Aug. 28, 2016

Incumbents keep seats, school bond issue OK'd

Wednesday, April 5, 2006

CHARLESTON -- City Council incumbents in Charleston will keep their seats and East Prairie schools will get funding.

Voters in the R-2 East Prairie School District overwhelmingly approved Proposition Two, 641-84, authorizing the district to borrow $2.75 million in zero-interest Qualified Zone Academy Bonds to complete a long list of needed repairs, upgrades and remodeling for district facilities.

The 88 percent of votes in favor of the measure well exceeded the four-

sevenths majority needed to pass a bond issue in this type of election.

County Clerk Junior DeLay explained larger elections don't require the two-

thirds "super majority" required during smaller elections because a higher participation rate is presumed.

With only about 19.5 percent of registered voters casting ballots, however, DeLay described the voter turnout Tuesday as "extremely low," adding that it was especially so considering the voter registration list has been trimmed down to around 8,000 registered voters from approximately 9,000.

"Nineteen percent with a trimmed-down voter list is not good," he said. "You'd think when you trim your voter list it would be up."

Charleston city councilmen James D. Conn, who brought in 349 votes, and Michael A. Jones, with 337, will each serve another three-year term after beating challengers Willie C. Carpenter Sr., who got 181 votes, and Jerry W. Rosson Sr., who netted 51.

In East Prairie, Shirley Pritchett, who was unopposed for the two-year term in Ward 1, got 91 votes.

East Prairie voters picked Kenny Walton over Martha Clark for the Ward 2 seat, 93-18. The incumbent, Harold Lemons, decided not to seek a fifth term.

In Ward 3, incumbent Karen Coffer, the only candidate, brought in 129 votes. The two seats on the Charleston School District Board of Education go to Lorraine Stallings with 478 votes and Alberta B. Redd, 442. Tammy Brown received 403 votes in this race.

East Prairie voters chose Cory Cates, who brought in 497 votes, and Steven E. Ellis, who had 407 votes, over Ricky Penrod, 357, for their school board.

Elsewhere in Mississippi County municipal elections:

* Incumbent Betty Jackson got 12 votes in her unopposed race for another two years representing Ward 1 in Anniston.

Incumbent Ladonna Reno, unopposed on the ballot for another full term in Ward 2, received 15 votes.

The one-year unexpired term in Anniston's Ward 2 went to Clifton Henshaw who beat incumbent Linda Abner 9-8.

* Incumbent James L. Baker, the sole candidate in Bertrand's Ward 1, received 11 votes and the unopposed incumbent in Ward 2, Stephen R. McConkey, got 26.

* Pinhook filled its three open trustee seats with Debra Tarver, 4 votes, Mary L. Williams, 2, and write-in candidate Shedrick Johnson who got a single vote.

* Wilson City voters selected Floyd E. Neal, 37 votes, Lommie Lane Jr., 36, and Marshall Powell, 36, to fill the three Board of Trustee seats over Vickey Graham, 17, and Nichole Gant, 16.

*In Wyatt, incumbent Mayor Donald Williams retained his seat with 46 votes.

While Williams was unopposed on the ballot, write-in candidates for mayor Joey Cross and Riley Fitzgerald Jr. received 12 and 23 votes respectively.

Unopposed incumbent David W. Stephens got 36 votes in Ward 1 while Robert J. Dugan Sr., the unopposed incumbent in Wyatt's Ward 2, got 35.