[Nameplate] Fair ~ 82°F  
High: 90°F ~ Low: 72°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Horman unseats incumbent Mann

Wednesday, August 9, 2006

BENTON -- A new man will serve as Scott County's Division 5 Associate Circuit judge.

Democratic challenger Scott T. Horman defeated incumbent David C. Mann 3,710 votes to 2,635 votes during Tuesday's primary election in Scott County.

Mann had not faced an opponent for 26 years.

Following his win, Horman said he wasn't surprised he and the committee to elect him were successful. "I thought we were going to be successful; however, I did not think it would be nearly 1,100 votes," said Horman, 30. Horman said he was very pleased with the voters countywide. "It was not north or south -- it was a county election, which was evident by the results. I'm very pleased with the voters who were confident to elect me to do this job," Horman said.

In the county's other contested race, Jamie Burger, currently serving as an associate county commissioner, defeated Glenn A. Pinkerton for Scott County's presiding county commissioner position as a Democrat. Burger won 3,361 votes to 2,814 votes.

"Naturally, I'm a elated that I won," Burger said. "Over the past six years, there were improvements in the county. I kept telling people anytime I would give a speech or was out campaigning that I hoped somewhere they've seen improvements in their community. ... I think people are pleased and proud of the direction the county is going."

Burger will replace current presiding commissioner Martin Priggel, who opted not to seek re-election, when his term ends. Gov. Matt Blunt will appoint someone to fill Burger's position as associate county commissioner.

"There's going to be four or five people who will come forward, and they will present their cases as to what their qualifications are and why they should get the appointment," Burger explained about the process. Presentations will be made to committees, and the committees will make recommendations to the governor. At that time, the appointment will follow, Burger said.

Voter turnout was 27.65 percent, which is higher than average, County Clerk Rita Milam said. "We had a good election, and I want to say a special thanks to our election judges," Milam said.

The following election results, which were provided by Milam's office, are unofficial:

Unopposed in their bids for another term in office were Democrats David A. Dolan, circuit judge for the 33rd District, who had 5,187 votes; and Hense Winchester, Division 4 associate circuit judge, who received 4,879 votes.

Other Scott County Democrats who will see new terms as they were both unopposed in the primary and had no candidates file from other parties in the general election include: Pam Glastetter, circuit court clerk, 5,242 votes; Rita Milam, county clerk, 5,248 votes; Thomas R. Dirnberger, recorder of deeds, 5,143 votes; Paul R. Boyd, prosecuting attorney, 4,994 votes; Mark Hensley, collector of revenue, 5,327 votes; and Glenda K. Enderle, treasurer, 4,921 votes.

In the Democratic race for the U.S. Senate seat in November, Bill Clinton Young received 2,029 votes and Claire McCaskill nabbed 3,675 votes.

Scott County voters chose Jim Talent, 565 votes, in his run for re-election for U.S. Senator over his Republican challengers, Isaiah Hair Jr., 4 votes; Joyce P. Lea, 8 votes; Roxie L. Fausnaught, 8 votes; and Scott Babbitt, 11 votes. Frank Gilmour, 2 votes, already had a place on the November ballot for the Senate seat as he was the only Libertarian candidate listed.

U.S. Rep. Jo Ann Emerson, 582 votes, was unopposed as a Republican for re-

election in District 8 during the primary.

In November, Emerson will face one of three Democratic candidates, who received the following Scott County votes: Veronica J. Hambacker, 1,745; Gene Curtis, 2,140; and E. Earl Durnell, 1,304 votes; along with Libertarian Branden C. McCullough, 2 votes.

In the five-way race among the Republicans for a chance to appear on the November ballot for state auditor, the following votes were received: Jack Jackson, 187 votes; Mark Wright, 101 votes; Al Hanson, 49 votes; Sandra Thomas, 111 votes; and John W. Loudon, 68 votes.

Democrats voted in favor of Susan Montee over Darrell Wattenbarger, 2,963 votes to 2,038 votes, to be their candidate for state auditor.

The November race for state auditor will also have a third choice: Charles W. Baum, the only Libertarian listed on the primary ballot, who garnered 2 votes.

Running unopposed in the Republican race for state representatives were Ellen Brandom, 402 votes, for 160th District; and Gary Branum, 104 votes, for the 161st District.

Also unchallenged in the Democratic state representative race were Larry Tetley, 3,769 votes, for 160th District; and Steve Hodges, 885 votes, for 161st District. They will face their respective candidates in November.

The proposition of whether or not the Missouri Constitution shall be amended to reauthorize for 10 years the one-tenth percent sales/use tax for soil and water conservation, state parks and historical sites received 4,047 yes votes and 2,100 no votes.