[Nameplate] Fair ~ 91°F  
Feels like: 98°F
Sunday, Aug. 28, 2016

Filing closes for municipal elections

Wednesday, January 23, 2008

BENTON -- With filing now closed for the April 8 municipal elections, area voters can now begin to consider their choices for city officials.

In Sikeston and Charleston, which have the possibility of a primary election, filing closed Nov. 20. Incumbents Sue Rogers in Sikeston and Jack Feezor in Charleston are both without opposition for new terms in office.

Filing for all other area municipalities closed at 5 p.m. Tuesday.

In Miner, three candidates have filed for mayor: incumbent Betty Barnes, Jeremy Clark and Mitch Thompson.

In Ward I, incumbent Frank Tatum will face Kimberly Foster in his bid for another term as alderman.

Ricky Hampton, James Buckley and Tim Holman have all filed for the Ward II alderman seat. Incumbent Peggy Holman did not file for re-election.

* There are four council seats -- one from each ward -- as well as the position of mayor up for election in Scott City.

City Clerk Cindy Uhrhan said the following residents have filed: incumbent Tim Porch and Charlotte Fay Cannon for the four-year mayor position; incumbent Bill Schwartz and challenger Jerald Hillman in Ward 1; Jarret Bollinger and Tim Rushing for the Ward 2 seat; incumbent Kirk Lewis in Ward 3; and incumbent Robert Henderson, Norman Brant and Andrew Bard for the Ward 4 position.

All the council terms are for two years.

* In Oran, Marcia Roslen has filed for another term as city collector without opposition.

Also up for election are the positions of mayor and Board of Aldermen seats in each of the city's four wards, according to City Clerk Melissa Pobst.

Incumbent Tom Urhahn will face Ron Diebold Jr. in a race to be the next mayor; incumbent Billy Senciboy will be running against Rosalia Friga in Ward 1; Ward 2 has a three-way race with Donald Harris and Gil Roslen filed in addition to incumbent Mike McVay; Russel Friga is running unopposed in Ward 3; and incumbent Gaylon Bryeans II and challenger Alfred Bonifield have filed in Ward 4.

* In Chaffee, one council seat is up for election in each of the city's four wards.

In Ward 1, Jack Simpson and Mike Jobe have filed for the position while the incumbent, Leon Stricklin, has not, according to Chaffee City Clerk Diane Eftink.

There is a five-way race in Ward 2, with incumbent Alice McFerron refiling along with Jerry A. Childers, Charles Huey, Douglas Sutterfield and Ronald Eichhorn.

Incumbent Bill Dysinger remains the sole candidate in Ward 3 while the Ward 4 incumbent, Jesse Jack Nordin, now has Paula Hicks as an opponent.

* Benton city officials were not available as of presstime for an update on the two positions up for election there.

* The city of New Madrid has a race for mayor with two candidates filed: incumbent Donnie Brown will face challenger Furgison Hunter, according to City Clerk Marian Bock.

There are races for all four positions open for alderman, too.

G.L. Keene, who was appointed to fill the unexpired term of the position vacated by Dick Bodi, has filed for a full term in Ward 1. Tommy Chism has also filed for the post.

The Ward 2 incumbent Russell J. Riggs will face challenger Ann Lawrence and former alderman Larry Tollison.

Mary Brockman, who was appointed to fill the unexpired term for the Ward 3 position vacated by Tollison, has filed for the one year remaining in that position. Harold Allred has also put his name in for the post.

Seeking a two-year term in Ward 3 are incumbent Brad Kolwyck, who is opposed by Carlotta Kosky.

* In Morehouse, one seat each from Ward 1 and Ward 2 are up for election.

Donna Brashears resigned from her Ward 1 position and Mike Dillard, who was appointed to fill her unexpired term, is seeking to retain the post. Opposing him on the ballot will be Pete Leija.

The incumbent in Ward 2 is Jackie W. Hays Sr., who has Barbara Johnson as an opponent in his bid for re-election.

* Portageville has just one race, according to Vella Moody, city clerk.

In Ward 1, Delmar Edgar and Lynn Doering are seeking election to the post which is currently held by Rick Rhoades.

In Ward 2, incumbent Rodi Walker is the sole candidate and for municipal judge, only the incumbent Bill Foster has filed for this position.

* Incumbents in Lilbourn all filed for new terms and only one of them has an opponent, according to Shelley Mainord, city clerk.

Incumbent Dale Ray and Frank Ash have filed for mayor; incumbent Robert Taylor has filed for another term in Ward 1; incumbent Alvin Bobo for another two years in the Ward 2 seat; incumbent Yvonne Morgan to continue serving as city collector; and incumbent Richard Kolwyck for re-election as municipal judge.

* In Matthews, voters have two races to pick a winner for.

For the Ward 2 seat, incumbent Armand Porter and Jason Schuerenberg are seeking the post.

In Ward 1, incumbent Eddie Polk has filed for a full term but does not have an opponent. Also unopposed in Ward 1 is Keith Duke who is filed without opposition to fill the one year remaining in the unexpired term vacated by Jimmy Burch.

Burch resigned from the position to serve as mayor after the former mayor, Gene Curtis, died July 11, according to City Clerk Michael W. Pyles.

Burch has filed to fill the one-year unexpired term for mayor and will face Donald Spragg who also filed for the position.

* Lori Lemons, city clerk in East Prairie, said incumbent Shirley Pritchett and Jeffrey Bright have filed for Ward 1 seats there.

Also filed for office are John Arington in Ward 2 and Karen Coffer for Ward 3. Terms are two years in length.

* In Bertrand, incumbents James L. Baker and Stephen R. McConkey have refiled for their seats in Ward 1 and Ward 2, respectively, said Diane Atchison, city clerk.

* Wyatt City Clerk Llula Clark said that all three incumbents have filed for new terms in the three positions up for election: Donald Williams for mayor, David W. Stephens for the Ward 1 representative and Robert J. Dugan Sr. for a Ward 2 seat.

Also filing were Clifton T. Coffey for the Ward 1 seat and Riley E. Fitzgerald Jr. for the position of mayor.