[Nameplate] Fair ~ 91°F  
Feels like: 96°F
Tuesday, Aug. 30, 2016

Turnout high for mid-term election

Wednesday, November 8, 2006

Scott County

BENTON -- Controversial issues and tight state races brought more than half of Scott County's registered voters to the election polls Tuesday.

Nearly 55 percent of Scott County's 24,836 active registered voters cast ballots Tuesday. Scott County Clerk Rita Milam compared the turnout to a presidential election.

"I'd also like to remind everyone for next time to keep current their address changes and check four weeks before the election to see which precinct you're in," Milam said.

The following election results, which were provided by Milam's office, are unofficial.

Nearly 68 percent of Scott County voters were in favor of Proposition B, which raises minimum wage to $6.50 per hour. It received 8,847 yes votes and 4,165 no votes.

Constitutional Amendment No. 2 (stem cell research) received 8,447 no votes and 4,578 yes votes.

Scott County voters were not in favor of Constitutional Amendment No. 3 (tobacco tax) with 7,896 voting no and 5,338 voting yes.

Constitutional Amendment No. 6 (property tax exemption for veterans' organizations) received 7,307 yes votes and 5,357 no votes.

Nearly 85 percent voted in favor of Constitutional Amendment No. 7 (forfeiture of pensions for officials removed from office or convicted of a felony) with 10,794 yes votes and 1,984 no votes.

In the heated U.S. Senate race, vote totals were: Republican Jim Talent, 7,733 votes; Democrat Claire McCaskill, 5,211 votes; Libertarian Frank Gilmour, 263 votes; Lydia Lewis of the Progressive Party, 86 votes; and 23 write-ins.

For state auditor, Republican Sandra Thomas had 6,324 votes; Democrat Susan Montee, 5,823 votes; Libertarian Charles W. Baum, 486 votes; Terry Bunker of the Progressive Party, 128 votes; and 16 write-in votes.

Vote totals in the Eighth District U.S. Representative race were Republican Jo Ann Emerson, 9,857 votes; Democrat Veronica J. Hambacker, 3,220 votes; Libertarian Branden C. McCullough, 246 votes; and 10 write-in votes.

Missouri Supreme Court Judges received the following votes: Price, 7,980 yes votes and 3,286 no votes; Russell, 8,002 yes votes and 3,249 no votes; and Limbaugh, 8,576 yes votes and 3,088 no votes.

Missouri court of Appeals for Southern District Judges were Garrison, 8,022 yes votes and 3,094 no votes; and Bates, 7,939 yes votes and 3,178 no votes.

No county offices were contested. Running unopposed as Democrats were: Jamie Burger, presiding county commissioner, 11,031 votes; Pam Glastetter, circuit court clerk, 11,175 votes; Rita Milam, county clerk, 11,217 votes; Thomas R. Dirnberger, recorder of deeds, 11,088 votes; Paul R. Boyd, prosecuting attorney, 11,000 votes; Mark Hensley, collector of revenue, 11,303 votes; and Glenda K. Enderle, treasurer, 10,239 votes.

Also running unopposed were Scott Horman, associate circuit judge for Division 5, 11,059 votes; and Hense Winchester, associate circuit judge for Division 4, 10,949 votes.

Democrat David A. Dolan, sole candidate for circuit judge for the 33rd Circuit Court, received 11,226 votes.