[Nameplate] Fair ~ 88°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 73°F
Saturday, Aug. 27, 2016

Primary election Tuesday

Sunday, August 3, 2008

County races feature several crowded fields

BENTON -- Races for sheriff and county commission seats appear to be the contests to watch at the county level during the August primary election.

In Scott County, incumbent Rick Walter is facing Bobby Sullivan in the race to be the Democrat's candidate for Scott County sheriff.

The winner will face Wes Drury, the sole Republican candidate for sheriff, in the November general election.

Democrat Dennis Ziegenhorn is unopposed on the primary ballot to run for another term as first district county commissioner.

There are two Democrats competing for a chance at the second district county commissioner seat, however: Donnie Kiefer and Shelby "Skip" Steger.

In November, the winner will face incumbent Ron McCormick, the only Republican on the primary ballot for the position.

Republican Charles Matthew Huey is also without opposition on his party's ballot for county coroner.

Democrat incumbents Teresa M. Houchin, assessor; Pam Dirnberger, public administrator; and Scott C. Amick, coroner, are all unopposed in the August primary.

In Mississippi County, the race for sheriff will be decided in the primary race as there are no candidates other than Democrats. Incumbent Keith Moore faces one challenger, Roy Moore, in his bid for another term.

Incumbent Homer D. Oliver will face challenger Robert M. Jackson in a primary race on the Democratic ticket for first district county commissioner.

Second District County Commissioner Martin Lucas is not seeking another term as county commissioner but does appear on the Democratic ballot. Lucas is the only candidate for county surveyor, a position he held before becoming a commissioner and that has remained vacant since he left it.

Democrats running in the primary for Lucas' seat on the county commission are Terry Bruce McLain, Steve Jones, Charles Byassee and Clinton L. Wolford.

With no incumbent in the race, Chuck Davis and Shirley J. Coffer are competing in the primary as Democrats for county assessor.

The winner of this race will face the only Republican candidate running for a county office in Mississippi County, Timothy J. Rolwing, on the November ballot.

Democrat incumbents Richard T. "Rick" Reed Jr., public administrator, and Terry A. Parker, coroner, are both running without opponents in the primary election.

County offices will be decided in New Madrid County by those picking up a Democratic ballot as no one filed on the county level on the Republican ticket.

Leading the ticket are the county commissioners' races.

In the first district, incumbent Mark Baker is being challenged by Barry Bennett and Fred Thatch. Don Day, second district commissioner, is opposed in his bid for re-election by Jerry Scherer.

For the job of sheriff on the Democratic ticket, Anthony Young and incumbent Terry Stevens are vying for the voters' support.

Nancy Pardon is not seeking re-election as the public administrator. Candidates for the office are Terri L. Adams and H. Riley Bock.

Coroner Jimmy McSpadden is opposed on the ballot by Jeremy C. Ruby.

Running without opposition in the New Madrid County Democratic primary are: Ronnie A. Simmons, assessor; Tommy Bradley, treasurer; and Michael Allgier, who is seeking a two-year unexpired term as auditor.

Those voters in Public Water Supply District No. 6, which includes Hough and part of Big Prairie 3 precincts, will vote yes or no on whether to permanently incorporate as a district.

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.