[Nameplate] Fair ~ 82°F  
High: 88°F ~ Low: 73°F
Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2016

Business Briefcase 10/12

Sunday, October 12, 2008

Store plans event for teachers

MINER -- Dressbarn will host a Teacher VIP (Very Indulgent Party) event for area teachers from 3 to 9 p.m. on Oct. 16 at the store located at 100 Outlet Drive. The shopping celebration is an in-store shopping party that allows dressbarn associates to indulge teachers by giving them undivided attention, celebrity service and additional savings. Each guest will receive 15 percent off their entire purchase.

Pemiscot County judge recognized

KANSAS CITY -- Bryon D. Luber, Pemiscot County Associate Circuit Judge, was honored recently during ceremonies at the 2008 Missouri Bar Annual Meeting.

Luber received the Theodore McMillian Judicial Excellence Award. This award is bestowed upon judges who set an example of judicial excellence by leadership in the advancement of the administration of justice, providing outstanding public and community service to the people of Missouri, and a person of the highest character, integrity and honor who inspires other members of the judiciary to similar noble purpose.

The award presentation took place during The Missouri Bar Awards Banquet at the Westin Crown Center Hotel in Kansas City.

Luber presides over Division II of the Pemiscot County Circuit Court. He is a past member of the Board of Directors of the Young Lawyers Section of the Missouri Bar. He received its Distinguished Service Award in 1978. Luber is the past chairman of the practical skills committee of the Missouri Bar and served as a member of the Missouri Professional Liability Review Board. He is the past president of the Missouri Association of Probate and Associate Circuit Judges. Luber presently serves on the Supreme Court Judicial Task Force Committee, Legislative Steering Committee, as co-chairman of the Weighted Workload Committee, and the Transfer of Judiciary Personnel Committee.

Medicine Shoppe earns top rank

ST. LOUIS -- For the second consecutive year, Medicine Shoppe pharmacies have been awarded top honors for customer satisfation among retail pharmacy chains by J.D. Power and Associates.

"Receiving the highest customer satisfaction score from J.D. Power and Associates for the second year in a row is an honor and a demonstration of the dedication of our pharmacists and franchisees," said Terry Burnside, general manager of Medicine Shoppe International, Inc., the franchisor for Medicine Shoppe pharmacies. "Medicine Shoppe pharmacists are committed to providing the highest level or personalized service and pride themselves on spending time counseling customers about their medications and overall health concerns, from immunizations to diabetes.

The 2008 J.D. Power and Associates study results show Medicine Shoppe pharmacy's customer satisfaction score at 837 out of 1,000, exceeding the industry average for chain pharmacies by 68 points. The average score for chain pharmacies was 805.

Medicine Shoppe's Sikeston location is owned by Ernie Moxey. It is at 613 S. Main and the phone number is 472-2622.

MU?Extension offers tax school

CAPE GIRARDEAU -- Tax preparers and attorneys can get the latest information on tax return preparation, legislation, individual and business issues, case law and IRS rulings at the 2008 Missouri Business/Farm Income Tax School on Oct. 23 at the Drury Lodge in Cape Girardeau.

This school, one of six offered by University of Missouri Extension, will deal with a broad range of tax issues with an emphasis on business and farm taxation.

Classes will be taught by Mike Hardin, Ph.D., enrolled agent and retired professor of agricultural economics, Oklahoma State University; Parman Green, MU Extension agriculture business specialist; and Catherine Murphy, stakeholder liaison and area disaster coordinator with the Internal Revenue Service.

Continuing professional education units are available. The fee is $125, which includes a copy of the 2008 National Income Tax Workbook developed by the Land-Grant University Tax Education Foundation.

Pre-registration is required by Oct. 20. To register, contact Dianna Koenig at 573-547-4504.

The school will begin at 8 a.m. and end at 4:50 p.m. Lunch will be on your own.

More information about the tax school, including maps and a registration form, is available on the Web at: http://agebb.missouri.edu/agtax/index.ht....

Minimum wage increase confirmed

JEFFERSON CITY -- Effective Jan. 1 , Missourians can expect to see an increase to the minimum wage rate. Beginning the first of the year, the state's minimum hourly wage will increase by 40 cents from $6.65 to $7.05 per hour

"In August, the Department released preliminary data projecting an increase to Missouri's minimum wage by 40 cents," said Todd Smith, Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations (DOLIR) Director. "A review of the Consumer Price Index (CPI) for July 2008 confirms the Missouri minimum wage rate will increase to $7.05 effective Jan. 1, 2009," Smith added.

Missouri's minimum wage law required the DOLIR director to determine by Sept. 30, any required adjustments to the minimum wage earnings based on changes in the CPI. The confirmed rate change announced today is based on a 6.0 percent change in the CPI between July 2007 and July 2008. The minimum wage law applies to all businesses/employees that are not specifically exempted.

For questions pertaining to Missouri's minimum wage law please call the Department's Division of Labor Standards at (573) 751-3403 or visit http://www.dolir.mo.gov/LS/minimumwage/i....

SBA seeks nominations for '09 awards

ST. LOUIS - The local office of the U.S. Small Business Administration is now accepting nominations for their 2009 Small Business Week awards. Each year our nation's president designates a National Small Business Week to celebrate and honor small business owners and their accomplishments.

The SBA's St. Louis District Office will accept nomination packages until Nov. 14.

The nomination packages are due in to the St. Louis SBA office, 200 N. Broadway, Suite 1500, St. Louis, MO 63102 no later than November 14, 2008 for judging. A district winner will be selected for each category. For more information, please contact Patti Guttmann at 314-539-6600, extension 255 or email at patricia.guttmann@sba.gov .