[Nameplate] Fair ~ 81°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 73°F
Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2016

The area's best

Sunday, November 15, 2009

Alecia Liggins of Sikeston High School was named to the 2009 All-Standard Democrat Volleyball Team along with Brittany Bedford, Lauren Ward and Abbie Warren of Dexter, Katie Diebold, Stephanie Essner, Katie Hogan, Jordan McFall, Brooke Simpson and Mikah Simpson of Scott City, Holly Milam of Oran and Kelly Robey of New Madrid County Central.
Coach of the Year: Haley Jennings, Scott City

Top Senior: Brooke Simpson, Scott City

Top Junior: Kelly Robey, NMCC

Top Sophomore: Katie Hogan, Scott City

Top Freshman: Monica Carter, Sikeston

Best Offensive Player: Brooke Simpson, Scott City

Best Defensive Player: Brooke Simpson, Scott City

Best Server: Katie Hogan, Scott City

Best Setter: Katie Diebold, Scott City

Most Aggressive: Brittany Bedford, Dexter

Most Underrated: McKenzie Mitchell, Dexter

Most Improved: Elisha Flanigan, Dexter

Most Power: Brooke Simpson, Scott City

Best Team Leader: Brooke Simpson, Scott City

Best Fan Support: Scott City Lady Rams

Best All-Around Team: Scott City Lady Rams

Top Performance: Brooke Simpson, Scott City in the state semifinals.

She had 35 kills with 19 digs and two aces in the three matches.

Game of the Year: Scott City v. Hermann, Nov. 7 in Class 2 state championship game. The Lady Rams won 25-19, 25-22.

About this team: The All-SD team was chosen by the Standard Democrat sports department from our coverage area that includes: Sikeston, Charleston, Dexter, NMCC, Oran and Scott City.