[Nameplate] Fair ~ 88°F  
Feels like: 98°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Mitch Allen is 2009 Angler of the Year

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

SIKESTON -- The Bootheel BassBusters held their annual banquet on Feb. 6 at Cheers in Sikeston. Awards for the 2009 tournament season were handed out at the banquet.

Mitch Allen won the 2009 Angler of the Year title and also took home 2009 Big Bass honors. John Wilson won second place and Ty Garrett took home third place honors.

Leven Cox was honored as the 2009 president.

The club also announced the 2010 tournament schedule at the banquet.

The dates are: March 28 at Kentucky Lake (KenLake Ramp); April 18 at Kentucky Lake (KenLake Ramp); May 23 at Barkley Lake (Devil's Elbow Ramp); June 5-6 at Kentucky Lake (Buckhorn Ramp); July 18 at Barkley Lake (Devil's Elbow Ramp); Aug. 14-15 at Kentucky Lake (KenLake/Buckhorn Ramps); Oct. 22-23 at Guntersville Lake (Goose Pond Colony Ramp) and Nov. 7 at Kentucky Lake (KenLake Ramp).

Anyone interested in joining the BassBusters for the 2010 tournament season should contact Club President John Wilson at 471-2567 or Vice President Mike Estes at 620-2785 after 5 p.m.

Owning a boat is not required for membership. Dues are $25 per year and new members are always welcome.