[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 72°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Anderson is named to SEMO first team

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Freshman is lone Bulldog on first team


CAPE GIRARDEAU -- Sikeston freshman Tyler Anderson was recently named first team All-SEMO Conference in a vote held by coaches.

Anderson, the lone Bulldog representative on the first team, spent most of his time as a pitcher and infielder for Sikeston. The freshman batted over .350 with four home runs while leading the Bulldogs in RBIs. As a pitcher, Anderson was 5-2 with an ERA just over one.

Dexter pitcher Cody Stause and outfielder Brandon Stoker both were named to the first team as was New Madrid County Central outfielder Kyle Harris.

Sikeston's Ross Bohannon, Jason Isaacs, Blake Newman, Trent McMillan, Jordan Williams, Cody Rice and Nathan Rodgers all were named honorable mention as was Dexter's Ben Mills, Sawyer Smith and Bryn Hester. Kelly's Dustin Crowden and Ian Householder were also honorable mentions.

Tyler Qualls of Jackson and Trey Bazzell of Kennett were co-players of the year in the conference while Notre Dame coach Jeff Graviett was named coach of the year.

Bobby McIntosh, a senior from Poplar Bluff, was named the comeback player of the year in the conference. McIntosh was diagnosed with Wegener's disease last summer, which almost claimed his life. During his long recovery, he had to be home schooled for a semester and he still suffers from nerve problems in his foot and severe pain, yet played in 11 games this season.

First Team

Pitcher -- Colton Young, sr., Notre Dame; Tanner Hiett, sr., Notre Dame; Cody Stause, sr. Dexter.

Catcher -- Tyler Qualls, sr. Jackson; Adam Grantham, so., Kennett.

Infield -- Josh Hiett, sr., Cape Central; Josh Meyer, sr., Cape Central; Clayton Baker, so., Jackson; Logan Dollins, so., Kennett; Tyler Anderson, fr., Sikeston; Wes Glaus, sr., Notre Dame.

Outfield -- Trenton St. Cin, sr., Notre Dame; Jake Pewitt, sr., Notre Dame; Brandon Stoker, sr., Dexter; Trey Bazzell, sr., Kennett; Clayton Gibbons, sr., Kennett; Kyle Harris, sr., NMCC.

DH -- Jeremy Essner, sr., Notre Dame.

Utility -- Andrew Williams, jr., Cape Central; Dylan Koehler, so., Jackson.

Honorable Mention

Notre Dame -- Mark Hagedorn, sr.; Jimmy Obermark, sr.; Ethan Essner, sr.

Cape Central -- Jamie Pickel, sr.; B.I. Howard, sr.; Josh Compas, sr.

Jackson -- Zack McDowell, jr.; Mason Sander, jr.; Matt Crader, sr.; Bobby Clark, jr.

Kennett -- Andy Lack, sr.

Dexter -- Ben Mills, sr.; Sawyer Smith, sr.; Bryn Hester, jr.

Sikeston -- Ross Bohannon, jr.; Jason Isaacs, sr.; Blake Newman, jr.; Trent McMillan, so.; Jordan Williams, sr.; Cody Rice, sr.; Nathan Rodgers, jr.

Poplar Bluff -- Quinton West, jr.; Jake Smith, sr.; Kyle Nelson, sr.; Josh King, fr.; Robert Rushin, sr.

Kelly -- Dustin Crowden, sr.; Ian Householder, so.


Co-Players of the Year -- Tyler Qualls (Jackson) and Trey Bazzell (Kennett)

Coach of the Year -- Jeff Graviett (Notre Dame)

Comeback Player of the Year -- Bobby McIntosh, Poplar Bluff


Standings -- 1. Notre Dame 7-0; 2. Cape Central 6-2; 3. Dexter 5-3, 3. Jackson 5-3; 5. Kennett 4-4; 5. Sikeston 4-4; 7. Poplar Bluff 3-5; 8. NMCC 1-6; 9. Kelly 0-7.