[Nameplate] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 73°F
Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2016

Basketball districts have new look for 2010-11

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Sikeston's Class 4, District 1 one of few to stay same


SIKESTON -- The Missouri State High School Activities Association (MSHSAA) has made minor changes to the state's 2010-11 basketball district alignments.

Although the boys Class 4, District 1 bracket will remain the same, with schools such as the defending champion Sikeston Bulldogs, Dexter, Notre Dame, Fredericktown, Perryville and Ste. Genevieve still involved, the district winner will no longer be looking up at a potential match-up with St. Francis Borgia. Borgia, who was moved to District 9, has eliminated Sikeston from playoff contention the previous two years and will not be seen until a possible game in the final four.

The District 1 tournament will be held at the Bearcat Event Center in Dexter for the second year in a row.

The Class 3, District 1 bracket, however, will look a bit different and may be one of the toughest in the state.

The district tournament, which will be held at New Madrid County Central High School, will have nine teams involved instead of the previous eight.

Scott City high School and Kelly High School, who have been moved to District 3, have been replaced by Bloomfield, Doniphan and Twin Rivers.

The district will also include NMCC, Charleston, East Prairie, Caruthersville, Malden and the defending champion Kennett Indians.

"It just got tougher," NMCC head coach Travis Day said about their district additions. "It's already a tough one to play in but, any team in our district could win it. That could be said about it every year."

Class 3, District 3 will have both Scott City and Kelly along with Arcadia Valley, Clearwater, Jefferson (Festus), Saxony Lutheran, West County and Woodland. Saxony Lutheran will be the hosts of District 3.

Class 2, District 1 has also been affected with change as the defending Class 2 runner-up Bernie Mules moves into the picture. Campbell, Cooter, Hayti, Holcomb, Portageville, Senath-Hornersville and South Pemiscot are also part of that bracket.

The Portageville Bulldogs will host the District 1 tournament.

Class 2, District 3 has dropped both Bernie and Lesterville while adding Southern High School to it's lineup. District 3, which has not yet decided on a host school, now consists of Advance, Chaffee, Greenville, Lesterville, Meadow Heights, Oran and Southern.

In Class 1, the District 2 bracket will have the Class 1 defending champion Scott County Central as well as Bell City, Delta and Richland. They will be replacing Leopold, Marquand-Zion and Zalma with Oak Ridge, who dropped from Class 2, McKinley Classical Leadership High School and the Fulton School at St. Albans High School to give them a total of seven.

This year's tournament will be held at Delta High School.

In District 1, there will be no changes as Clarkton, Delta, Gideon, Naylor, North Pemiscot, Risco and Southland will all be back in the same bracket which will be held at Gideon High School.

The girls side will be similar except for Class 1. In District 1, only Naylor, who finished in fourth place last year at state, will be the only participant. In District 2, Delta, McKinley Classical Leadership and Scott County Central will make up the bracket.

Class 2, District 1 will have five teams -- Campbell, Hayti, Portageville, Senath-Hornersville and South Pemiscot.

In Class 2, District 3, Chaffee, Greenville, Lesterville, Meadow Heights, Oran and Southern will square off.

The Class 3, District 1 bracket will have eight teams, unlike the boys' nine, in Caruthersville, NMCC, Charleston, Doniphan, East Prairie, Kennett, Malden and Twin Rivers.