[Nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 93°F  
Feels like: 102°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Local players earn postseason awards

Friday, October 22, 2010

Hopson and Davied are first team all-district


JACKSON -- As the fall softball season winds down to this weekend's state championships in Springfield, postseason awards are beginning to be announced with several local players receiving recognition.

In Class 4, Sikeston's Sarah Hopson and Sydney Davied were both named to the District 1 all-district team. Hopson, a pitcher and outfielder, finished the season with a .436 batting average and had a school record five home runs with 16 RBIs. She finished with a 10-5 record with a 1.57 ERA, striking out 53 while walking only eight.

Davied was also a pitcher and outfielder, and batted .387 with 15 RBI and a team-high five triples. She was 4-3 for the Lady Bulldogs with a 1.58 ERA and 24 strike outs.

Sikeston catcher Sarah Dixon was an honorable mention on the all-district team.

Class 1, District 1

In Class 1, District 1, Oran senior catcher Amanda Williams and senior first baseman Halle Woodfin both were named first team all-district while senior infielder Abby Anderson, freshman infielder Addie Kielhofner, freshman pitcher Morgan Todt and freshman outfielder Molly McConnell were all named honorable mention.

Chaffee senior infielder Hannah Bedwell, junior outfielder Sierra Miller, junior infielder Maria Smith and junior outfielder Taylor Fodge were named first team all-district while sophomore catcher Adrienne Eichhorn was named honorable mention.

Scott-Miss Conference

Oran senior catcher Amanda Williams was named the Player of the Year in the Scott-Mississippi Conference. Williams finished the season batting .446 with 11 doubles and 25 RBIs and was one of the top defensive catchers in the area.

Scott City coach Amy Pobst was named the Coach of the Year, after leading the Lady Rams to a 14-11 record and a Scott-Mississippi Conference title.

Class 4, District 1 All-District

PITCHERS -- Sarah Hopson, Sikeston; Erin Littrell, Farmington; Alicia Litvak, Hillsboro; Kadie Orenstein, Cape Central

CATCHERS -- Ali Brooks, Poplar Bluff; Cherlyn Orlando, Hillsboro

INFIELDERS -- Katie Garner, Jackson; Kara Pochon, Hillsboro; Sierra Thompson, Hillsboro

OUTFIELDERS -- Mikala Torrence, Hillsboro; Demesha Huddleston, Jackson; Sonya Hahn, Farmington; Sydney Davied, Sikeston; Mollie Crader, Jackson

HONORABLE MENTION -- Lexi Smith, Cape Central; Chelsea Sterling, Cape Central; Mallory Jones, Jackson; Sarah Dixon, Sikeston; Lauren Arnold, Hillsboro; Rachel Arnold, Hillsboro; Rachel Porter, Hillsboro; Katie Currington, Farmington; Hillary Succaw, Poplar Bluff.

Class 1, District 1 All-District

PITCHERS -- Ericka Engleman, jr., Naylor.

CATCHERS -- Amanda Williams, sr., Oran; Andrea Sullivan, soph., Naylor; Rachel Bartels, jr., Delta; Jackie Griffin, jr., Neelyville

INFIELDERS -- Halle Woodfin, sr., Oran; Hannah Bedwell, sr., Chaffee; Courtney Beggs, jr., Delta; Maria Smith, jr., Chaffee; Darby Pruett, fr., Naylor; Macey Parks, jr., Delta

OUTFIELDERS -- Katelyn Hughey, sr., Naylor; Sierra Miller, jr., Chaffee; Taylor Fodge, jr., Chaffee

HONORABLE MENTION -- Brittany Hager, Van Buren; Abby Anderson, Oran; Kendal Rogers, Naylor; Addie Kielhofner, Oran; Kara Sheppard, Neelyville; Morgan Todt, Oran; Adrienne Eichhorn, Chaffee; Molly McConnell, Oran; Calea Petty, Neelyville; Myra Henson, Delta

Scott-Mississippi Conference

First Team All-Conference

PITCHERS -- Alexis Spriggs, soph., Scott City; Morgan Todt, fr., Oran

CATCHERS -- Amanda Williams, sr., Oran; Samantha Bartels, sr., Delta; Macy Hall, fr., Scott City

INFIELDERS -- Halle Woodfin, sr., Oran; Hannah Bedwell, sr., Chaffee; Maria Smith, jr., Chaffee; Courtney Beggs, jr., Delta; Stacey Heisserer, sr., Scott City; Macey Parks, jr., Delta; Addie Kielhofner, fr., Oran

OUTFIELDERS -- Melanie Lacey, sr., Scott City; Sierra Miller, jr., Chaffee; Taylor Fodge, jr., Chaffee

HONORABLE MENTION -- Abbey Anderson, Oran; Jenna Cummins, Scott City; Adrienne Eichhorn, Chaffee; Lindsay Kern, Scott City; Rachel Bartels, Delta; Molly McConnell, Oran; Myra Henson, Delta; Brittany Kiefer, Scott City

PLAYER OF THE YEAR -- Amanda Williams, Oran

COACH OF THE YEAR -- Amy Pobst, Scott City