[Nameplate] Fair ~ 77°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 72°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Local players named to all region team

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Sikeston senior Darryl Howard (25) was one of the many local players named to the sportswriters all region football team.
(David Jenkins, Staff)
SIKESTON -- Several area football teams were well-represented in the annual all-region football teams voted on by Southeast Missouri sportswriters.

In Class 4, Sikeston had nine players named to the first team including Trey Lewis (QB), Darryl Howard (RB), Janeil Hatchett (WR), Ben Burton (OL), Corey Porter (OL), Faylon Marshall (DL), Michael Perkins (DL), Ray Clark (LB) and Treston Pulley (LB). The Bulldogs, who finished the year 13-1, filled five more positions on the second team with Porter (DL), Brandon Blissett (LB), Hatchett (DB), Lewis (DB) and Kyland Gross (all-purpose).

Class 3

In Class 3, Dexter found themselves well-represented as well after finishing with an 8-5 record, losing in the state quarterfinals. The Bearcats had seven players named to the first team, including: Cody Stevens (QB), Morgan Hedrick (WR), Zach Lacy (OL), Brandon Moore (OL), Aaron Mace (DL), Nick Summers (LB), Jake Cox (DB) and Taylor Jarrell (K). Ten slots on the second team were also filled by Bearcats: Josh Overall (RB), Cox (WR), Tyler Miller (WR and P), Jacob Bollinger (OL), Jacob Stephens (OL), Jacob Lee (DL), Alex Cliff (LB), Austin Featherston (LB) and Nate Watkins (DB). Summers was also an honorable mention running back. Dexter's Aaron Pixley was named coach of the year.

New Madrid County Central's G'Darius Stevenson made the first team at two positions in Class 3. On offense the QB/RB was first team all-purpose back and on defense the senior was a first team linebacker. NMCC's Jamareia Jones was a second team defensive back.

Class 2

In Class 2, East Prairie's Alan Miller was named all region as an offensive lineman and a linebacker while Mikey Russell (WR) and Alex Marcum (DL) were also honored.

Scott City's Garett Schaefer was an all region selection at running back and kicker while Hunter Griffith was honored as a linebacker.

Charleston was represented by punter Ethan Browning.

Class 1

Portageville's Fred Treadwell was named all region as a running back while teammate Jake Young was honored as both an offensive and defensive lineman. Caden Robbins was named all region as a linebacker.

Chaffee's Jason Cicardi was an all region defensive back while teammates Mike Rutherford (WR) and Trevor Cannon (LB) were honorable mention.

Related subjects