[Nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 77°F  
High: 82°F ~ Low: 73°F
Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2016

Area's best: Sikeston senior Trey Lewis wins Carr Trophy

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Sikeston senior Trey Lewis poses with 2010 Carr Trophy, honoring the top football player in the SEMO Conference. Lewis is the fourth Sikeston player to win the award, following Undra Lane (1980), Raphael "Tiger" Boyd (1991) and Juqualin Wiggins (2009).
(Photo by David Jenkins, Staff)
Lewis is only fourth Bulldog to win award


POPLAR BLUFF -- For the second year in-a-row, the SEMO Conference Carr Trophy was presented to a Sikeston Bulldog.

Senior Trey Lewis was presented the award on Wednesday night at the 65th Annual Poplar Bluff Gridiron Banquet honoring Southeast Missouri High School Football.

"I just take this as a big honor," Lewis said. "I'm very thankful and appreciative to be in this group of athletes. It just feels good right now."

Lewis, a 6-2, 195 pound quarterback, led the Bulldogs to a 13-1 record and a second state semifinal round in as many years. He scored 40 combined touchdowns and had a total of 2,957 yards this season.

He surpassed many records set by last year's Carr Trophy winner, Juqualin Wiggins.

"I talked to him the other night," Lewis said about Wiggins. "I was messing around with him about the MVP award. I told him it felt good from one MVP to another. He just told me he was proud of me. I learned a lot from watching him last year and I think it helped me this year."

Lewis, who is currently receiving college looks from Southeast Missouri State University, Murray State, Southern Illinois University and Missouri State, also won the SEMO North scoring award with 144 points scored. It was the second highest total in Sikeston school history.

Sikeston's Corey Porter won the Outstanding Linemen award for the SEMO North. It was the first time a Sikeston linemen has won the award since Justin Landers in 1992.

"It's a positive end," Sikeston head coach Kent Gibbs said. "It's real meaningful and I think it tells you that there's some respect for our kids, number one. There's respect for our coaches and our program too. It's been an exciting night for our kids.

"It's kind of hard to put in words because way back in January, we put Trey where we did and for him to do what he did and come on and win the award like the Carr, it's something that really doesn't happen that often. We're extremely happy tonight that's for sure. Truly, it's an honor for us and it's an honor for our program."

New Madrid County Central's G'Darius Stevenson made history as the second, 3-time winner of a scoring award. Stevenson totaled 2,203 yards of offense, 35 touchdowns and 229 points for the 1-9 Eagles.

Jim Bland of Dexter was the other 3-time winner from 1961-63.

Scott City's Garett Schaefer won the SEMO South scoring award as well.

Aaron Mace of Dexter and Darnell Clay of Hayti won the SEMO Central and South Outstanding Linemen of the year awards.

The Coach of the Year honors went to Caruthersville's Nathan Morgan in the SEMO Central, David Gilmore of Hayti in the SEMO South and Rich Payne of Cape Central in the SEMO North.

The School Sportsmanship award was given to the Cape Central Tigers.

The SEMO Conference Team Champions where Hayti from the South, Caruthersville out of the Central and Sikeston in the North.

Dennis Quertermous and Herb Marshall where honored as the first recipients of the Sam Giambelluca Lifetime Achievement Award for their combined 86 years of officiating in the Southeast Missouri area. Both Quertermous and Marshall hail from Charleston.

Guest speaker at the banquet was future Hall of Fame college football coach, Jackie Sherrill. Sherrill played fullback and linebacker for Coach Bear Bryant at the University of Alabama helping the Crimson Tide win two National Championships. In 26 years as a head coach, Sherrill compiled a record of 180-120-4 and played in 14 bowl games.

He coached the likes of Hall of Famers, Dan Marino, Hugh Green and Tony Dorsett. Sherrill is currently a studio analyst for Fox Sports Net's college football coverage.