[Nameplate] Fair ~ 91°F  
Feels like: 98°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Sportswriters release all-region teams

Sunday, March 27, 2011

FARMINGTON -- The 2011 Southeast Missouri Media All-Region basketball teams were recently released.

In Class 4, the Sikeston Bulldogs received four selections who were all driving forces behind their first Class 4 state basketball title.

Seniors Janeil Hatchett, Darryl Howard and Corey Porter were all named to the first team while Will Holifield made the second team.

Hatchett (6-1) led the Bulldogs with a 12.1 points per game average. He also had 6.5 rebounds and 3.8 assists per game. Howard (6-0) averaged 11.7 points, 4.3 steals and 3.4 assists per game.

Porter (6-2) averaged just over 10 points a game to go with a team-leading 7.2 rebounds. Holifield (6-1) scored 10.4 points per game.

The leading scorer for the Sikeston Lady Bullodgs was named to the second team with an average of 13.5 points and 9.6 rebounds.

The Dexter duo of senior Alan Flannigan (6-7) and sophomore Brittany Harris (6-0) also made the Class 4 cut as they each were named to the first team. Flannigan averaged 22.5 points per game along with 12.5 rebounds a game.

Harris made the girls first team averaging 20.2 points for the Lady Bearcats who won their first district championship since 2009.


A trio of Charleston Bluejays made the Class 3 boys cut with Greg Tucker and Jerry Carter making the first team. Sophomore Ryan Parham was an honorable mention selection.

Tucker (6-2) led the Bluejays, who took third place in the 2011 Show-Me Showdown, with a 20.3 points per game average as well as 5.5 rebounds per game. Carter (6-1) added 14.4 points per game and was a 42 percent 3-point shooter. Parham (5-10) collected nine points and 5.6 assists per game.

On the girls side, Charleston junior Kasuela Cooper made the first team while sophomore E'Neikqua Ewing made the second team and senior Taylor Duenne was named to the honorable mention squad.

Cooper (6-1) led the Bluejays with a 22.5 points per game clip as well as 14.9 rebounds. Ewing (5-10) scored 13.7 points per game. Duenne averaged 7.4 points and was a 40 percent 3-point shooter.

New Madrid County Central senior G'Darius Stevenson made the honorable mention team. Stevenson (6-1) scored 10.6 points for the Eagles to go with 6.3 rebounds.

The NMCC Lady Eagles had two selections in sophomores Benesha Childress and Karen McGloson. Childress (5-9) made the second team with an average of 20 points, 10 rebounds, five steals and two assists. McGloson (5-11), who was named to the honorable mention squad, scored 13 points per game and pulled down 10 rebounds a game.

Scott City juniors Zach Cotner and Landon Robert also made the Class 3 teams. Cotner (6-1) was a second team selection while Robert (6-1) made honorable mention.

Junior Katie Hogan (6-2) was named to the first team as well. The junior for Scott City averaged 16 points, 11.3 rebounds and six blocks for the Lady Rams. Senior Melanie Lacy (5-10) was named to the honorable mention team.

East Prairie senior Jennifer Nicholson, who averaged 21.5 points and 11 rebounds per game, made the first team..

Kelly senior Trey Drury (5-10) was another honorable mention selection leading the Hawks with 11.3 points a game.

Junior Kayla Hicks (5-10) made the second team for the Lady Hawks while senior Kristen Powell (5-7) was honorable mention. Hicks scored 17 points a game for Kelly. Powell averaged 10.


Portageville senior Fred Treadwell made the Class 2 first team. Treadwell (6-2) led the Bulldogs with an 18.6 point per game clip. Portageville junior Tevin Walker made the second team averaging 16.7 points, 4.2 steals and three assists. Senior Rondraus Booker was an honorable mention selection with 11.3 points and 12.8 points per game.

Oran seniors Jon Morrow and Nathan Michelsen were named to the first team and honorable mention squads, respectively.

Cheyanne King was also named to the girls first team. The Oran senior scored 20.8 points per game and pulled down 11.2 rebounds. She scored 1,529 career points for Oran.

Chaffee junior Alex Crowe made the honorable mention list scoring 16 points a game.


Three players from the Class 1 state champion Scott County Central Braves were selected.

Senior Otto Porter (6-9) was named to the first team and averaged 29.5 points and 12.6 rebounds a game.

Scott Central senior guard Stewart Johnson was also named to the first team scoring 13.7 points a game as well as 7.1 assists.

Junior Dominique Porter (5-11) was selected as a second teamer scoring just under 11 points a game.

Richland senior Ryan Kleffer was named to the first team as well. Kleffer ended his last year with the Rebels with an average of 28.4 points, seven rebounds and four assists. The senior scored over 1,500 points in his career.

Risco juniors Chris Pavy and Luke Bixler made the Class 1 cut. Pavy, who averaged 20.5 points, seven assists, 4.6 rebounds and 3.5 steals a game, was named to the first team. Bixler was an honorable mention selection averaging 17.2 points a game.

The Delta duo of Samantha Bartels and Machela Van Gennip made the Class 1 girls first team.