[Nameplate] Fair ~ 90°F  
Feels like: 96°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

AP all-state teams released

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Gregg Holifield
COLUMBIA -- The Missouri Sportswriters and Sportscasters released their all-state basketball teams today with several local players being honored.

The Sikeston Bulldogs were well-represented in Class 4 with Janeil Hatchett being named to the first team and Darryl Howard and Corey Porter earning second team honors.

Hatchett, a 6-1 senior, led the team in scoring with a 12.3 points per game average. He also pulled down 6.8 rebounds per game and dished out 3.7 assists.

Howard, a 6-0 senior, was a defensive stopper for the state champion Bulldogs, averaging 4.3 steals per game while scoring 11.6 points per game. He also gave out 3.2 assists and grabbed 2.5 rebounds per game.

Porter, a 6-2 senior, averaged 10.5 points per game and pulled in 7.4 rebounds per game with 3.0 assists per game.

Sikeston head coach Gregg Holifield was also named as Class 4 Coach of the Year after leading the Bulldogs to a 30-0 record and their first-ever state basketball championship.

Also in Class 4, Dexter's Alan Flannigan was named to the first team. A 6-7 senior, Flannigan scored at a 22.5 points a game clip to go with his 12.5 rebounds per game.

In Class 3, Charleston's Greg Tucker was a first team honoree. The 6-2 junior led the Bluejays to a third place finish in the 2011 Show-Me Showdown after averaging 20.3 points per game, grabbing 5.5 rebounds per game.

Charleston was ranked second in the final state poll after losing in overtime to eventual state champion Hogan Prep in the Class 3 semifinals.

In Class 1, Scott County Central had two players named to the first team in Otto Porter and Stewart Johnson.

Porter, a 6-9 senior, averaged 29.5 points and 12.6 rebounds per game while leading the Braves to their third consecutive state championship and 15th overall.

Johnson, a 5-10 senior, scored 13.7 points per game while dishing out 7.1 assists.

Rounding out the local notables receiving honors were Richland senior Ryan Kleffer and Risco junior Chris Pavy, both who were second team honorees.

Kleffer, a 6-2 senior, scored 28.4 points per game for the Rebels while adding seven rebounds and four assists. The senior scored over 1,500 points in his career.

Pavy, a 5-10 junior, scored 21.2 points a game while leading the Tigers to their second consecutive district title. Pavy also dished out 4.8 assists and grabbed 7.2 rebounds while collecting 3.5 steals per game.

A complete all-state list can be found in today's scoreboard.