[Nameplate] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 72°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Few races leads to low voter turnout

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

CHARLESTON -- A low voter turnout during Tuesday's municipal election was attributed to the small number of contested races.

County Clerk Junior DeLay said the 17.47 percent turnout -- 1,494 of the county's registered 8,553 voters, was "a little low."

In one of the few contested races, Jack Feezor won a seat for a three-year term on Charleston's City Council with 278 votes to opponent Sandra A. Harvey's 194.

In East Prairie, there was a two-way race for each of the three two-year terms on the Board of Aldermen. In Ward 1, Susan Morris beat John Arington with 187 votes to 67. Les Keene received 56 votes for the Ward 2 seat, while Keith Grissom garnered 53 and there was one write-in. And in Ward 3, Paul E. Pfeifer narrowly beat Clinton Wolford, with the final tally being 67 to 65.

Three three-year terms were open on the East Prairie School Board. Vote totals were: Ricky Penrod, 473; Steve Myers, 369; Tim Wagner, 320; Darrin Davis, 294; Mikey Johnson, 213; Ivan Jones, 159; Jeff Bright, 147; and Keith Arnold, 49. There was also one write-in.

For the complete article and more stories from the Standard Democrat, click here to log on to the electronic edition.