[Nameplate] Fair ~ 72°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 72°F
Saturday, Aug. 27, 2016

Depro elected to Sikeston city council

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Bob Depro
BENTON -- It was a close race for the two candidates vying for a seat on the Sikeston City Council, but when the votes were counted during Tuesday's municipal election, Bob Depro walked away the winner.

Depro defeated David Carnell for the at-large position currently held by Sue Rogers, who was not eligible for another term due to the City Charter allowing no more than two consecutive terms in a City Council position.

Depro garnered 510 Scott County votes and 47 New Madrid County votes while Carnell netted 451 Scott County votes and 46 New Madrid County votes for a total of 557 to 497.

In Miner, Chris Griggs, who received 183 votes, will remain chief of police as the incumbent defeated his opponents, Stephen Chamberlain, 171 votes; and James M. Alsup, 39 votes.

Ellen Davis, 322 votes, will also remain city collector for Miner as she beat her challenger, Sharron Smith, 70 votes, in her bid for another four years in the office.

Miner's Board of Alderman for Wards 1 and 2 will not change either. Ward 1 incumbent Deloris Smith, 112 votes, defeated her opponent, Donnie Anglin, 93 votes. Peggy Holman, Ward 2 incumbent, received 100 votes while her challenger, Johnnie Watson, garnered 83 votes.

For more pictures and stories from the Standard Democrat, click here to log on to the electronic edition.