[Nameplate] Fair ~ 90°F  
Feels like: 97°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Board welcomes new members

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Amy Blanton, Deke Lape (middle) and Mike Marsh are sworn in for new three-year terms on the Sikeston R-6 Board of Education Tuesday at the district's central office. Leonna Heuring, Staff
SIKESTON -- The Sikeston R-6 Board of Education reorganized and welcomed two new members during its monthly meeting Tuesday at the district office.

Current board member Amy Blanton and new members Deke Lape and Mike Marsh took their oaths of office for three-year terms. Outgoing board members Rick Adams and Ken Stone didn't seek re-election to the board so an election for R-6's school board was not needed.

Board President Scott Crumpecker thanked Adams and Stone for their service and gave each a personalized set of glass book ends.

"We've had a lot of long meetings, and we want to express gratitude for taking your time away from your careers and families to help serve on the board," Crumpecker told them.

Adams was on the board a total of 15 years, most recently serving consecutively from 2002-201l, while Stone served from 2008-2011.

For more pictures and stories from the Standard Democrat, click here to log on to the electronic edition.