[Nameplate] Fair ~ 77°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 73°F
Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2016

The All-Standard Democrat boys team

Sunday, April 24, 2011

First team

Alan Flannigan


6-7, senior

Flannigan averaged 22.5 points and 12.1 rebounds per game for the Bearcats and was the first Dexter player named SEMO Conference Player of the Year. The senior helped the Bearcats to a first place finish in the Stoddard County Conference Tournament and has signed to play at Lafayette next season.

Janeil Hatchett


6-1, senior

Hatchett was the leading scorer on Sikeston's Class 4 state championship team, averaging 12.3 points per game. He also grabbed 6.8 rebounds and had 3.7 assists per game, helping the Bulldogs to a 30-0 record. Hatchett has signed to play basketball at the University of Missouri-St. Louis.

Ryan Kleffer


6-2, senior

Kleffer took over as the focal point of the Rebel offense and shined, pouring in 28.4 points per game while grabbing 7 rebounds and dishing out 4 assists per game as well. Kleffer scored over 1,500 points in his career and was named all-state as well as all-region and all-conference his senior season.

Otto Porter

Scott County Central

6-9, senior

Porter was a man among boys for most of his games, scoring 30 points and pulling down 14 rebounds per game for the state champion Braves. One of the top recruits in the country, Porter was the most dominant player in the area, signing a letter of intent to play at Georgetown next year.

Greg Tucker


6-2, junior

Tucker was the top scorer for the Bluejays, putting in 21 points per game and grabbing six rebounds per contest. Just a junior, Tucker was the go-to guy for Charleston and helped lead them to a third place finish in Class 3 while being named all-state, all-region and all-conference.

Second Team

Darryl Howard


6-0, senior

The lightning quick guard was the driving force behind Sikeston's famed defense wreaking havoc throughout their press. Howard averaged 4.3 steals per game and was Sikeston's second-leading scorer with 11.7 points per game. He also chipped in 3.4 assists per game.

Stewart Johnson

Scott County Central

5-10, senior

In the off chance teammate Otto Porter would struggle, Johnson would be there to pick up the slack. Johnson was the Braves' second-leading scorer averaging 13.7 points and 1.6 steals a game. He also worked as Scott Central's floor general averaging seven assists per game.

Chris Pavy


5-10, junior

Pavy led Risco to their second-straight Class 1, District 1 title even after graduation hit the Tigers hard a season ago. Pavy seemed to be everywhere on the floor for Risco averaging 21.2 points per game, 7.2 rebounds a game, 4.8 assists and 3.5 steals. He also shot 55 percent from the floor.

Corey Porter


6-2, senior

Porter was the unquestionable leader of the unbeaten Sikeston Bulldogs. Porter averaged 10.1 points per game as well as 7.2 rebounds a game. He saved his biggest performance for the biggest stage leading Sikeston with 24 points on 8 of 13 shooting in 28 minutes played during the Class 4 title game.

Fred Treadwell


6-2, senior

When Treadwell was on his game, the Portageville Bulldogs had a great chance to beat anyone. The sure-handed senior led the Bulldogs with 18.6 points a game and was a first-team all-conference selection. He averaged 4.5 rebounds and three steals a game as well.

Third Team

Jerry Carter


6-1, senior

Carter was arguably the best perimeter shooter in the area. The Bluejays' deep threat averaged 14.4 points per game with most of his contributions coming from behind the 3-point line. He sank 42 percent of his 3-point attempts all while helping the Bluejays to a third-place finish in Class 3.

Zac Cotner

Scott City

6-1, junior

Acting as Scott City's go-to guy, Cotner answered the bell each time. The junior averaged 18 points per game as well as 11 rebounds a game. He added three steals, three assists and two blocked shots a game as well in leading the Rams to a district championship appearance.

Will Holifield


6-1, senior

The senior seemed to always step up when the Bulldogs needed a jolt. Utilizing his superior outside shooting abilities, Holifield averaged 10.4 points per game and was key in Sikeston's state championship season. Holifield has signed to play basketball for Three Rivers College.

Jon Morrow


6-4, senior

Leading Oran to a sectional game appearance against New Haven, Oran's big man was their go-to scorer. Morrow led the Eagles with 19 points a game and 10 rebounds a game. He was also a defensive force blocking 6 shots per game as well. He led Oran to a 19-9 record.

Ryan Parham


5-10, sophomore

As only a sophomore, Parham proved he was better than his short time with the Bluejays could have allowed. The point guard controlled every aspect of Charleston's game from hard-nosed defense to unparalleled court vision which led to 5.6 assists per game. He also averaged nine points a game.

Top Offensive Player: Otto Porter, SCC

Top Defensive Player: Darryl Howard, Sikeston

Best Clutch Performer: Will Holifield, Sikeston

Best Slam Dunker: Otto Porter, SCC

Top Rebounder: Otto Porter, SCC

Top Shot Blocker: Otto Porter, SCC

Best 3-point Shooter: Jerry Carter, Charleston

Best Senior: Otto Porter, SCC

Best Junior: Greg Tucker, Charleston

Best Sophomore: Ryan Parham, Charleston

Best Freshman: Jordon Pavy, Risco

Most Physical: Corey Porter, Sikeston

Biggest spark off bench: Vashawn Ruffin, Sikeston

Most Flamboyant: Chris Pavy, Risco

Best Team Leader: Corey Porter, Sikeston

Top Ball Handler: Ryan Parham, Charleston

Most Underrated Player: Alex Crowe, Chaffee

Best FT Shooter: Terry Jamison, Sikeston

Most Improved: Datrae Hicks, NMCC

Best Team:

Scott Central Braves

Game of the Year: Sikeston over St. Francis Borgia 74-55 for the Class 4 state title on March 12

Coach of the Year:

Gregg Holifield, Sikeston

Top Individual Performance:

Otto Porter, 41 points, 11 rebounds and 6 steals in a 89-55 win over Maplewood on Feb. 19.

About the team

The 2010-11 All-Standard Democrat Boys Basketball Team was selected by the Standard Democrat sports department. Teams in our coverage area include: Sikeston, Chaffee, Charleston, Delta, Dexter, East Prairie, Kelly, Oran, Portageville, Richland, Risco, Scott City and Scott Central.