[Nameplate] Fair ~ 81°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 71°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

Scott County looks at redistricting options

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

BENTON -- Scott County's second district associate county commissioner may hand off a township to the first district's representative.

County commissioners looked at their redistricting options during their regular meeting Tuesday.

Due to population changes as found by the 2010 Census, County Commission district lines must be redrawn. State statutes require districts to be contiguous and have populations as close to equal as possible without splitting existing political townships.

The first district, which currently includes the Richland and Rootwad townships located at the southern end of the county, are represented by Commissioner Dennis Ziegenhorn.

The second district, which includes the Moreland, Commerce, Kelso, Sandywoods, Tywappity, Sylvania and Morley townships, is represented by Commissioner Donnie Kiefer.

According to the 2010 Census, the county now has a total of 39,191 residents, down slightly from the 2000 Census figure of 40,422.

"Richland, which is Sikeston and Miner, lost some people," Ziegenhorn said.

For the complete article and more stories from the Standard Democrat, click here to log on to the electronic edition.