[Nameplate] Fair ~ 81°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 73°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

More help for local recovery

Sunday, May 29, 2011

JEFFERSON CITY - Scott County is now among local governments eligible for public assistance funds to help repair damaged roads and infrastructure.

On Friday, Gov. Jay Nixon announced Scott as well as Stoddard, Bollinger, Reynolds, Butler, Iron, Madison, Perry, Ste. Genevieve and Wayne counties are now eligible for federal funds to assist in cleaning up after recent flooding.

The governor also announced five more Southeast Missouri counties were added to a federal disaster declaration. Residents in Bollinger, Dunklin, Pemiscot, Reynolds and St. Francis counties are now eligible for individual federal assistance to cover uninsured losses or expenses, such as temporary housing, home repair, replacement of household items and medical bills.

Other counties already designated are Cape Girardeau, Ripley, Scott, Stoddard, New Madrid, Mississippi and Butler.

For the complete article and more stories from the Standard Democrat, click here to log on to the electronic edition.