[Nameplate] Fair ~ 79°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 71°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

Opening night

Thursday, August 11, 2011

Brad Harris, from Udall, Kan., was one of only three cowboys to hold on for eight seconds during the bull riding competition on opening night of the 59th Annual Sikeston Jaycee Bootheel Rodeo on Wednesday. Harris finished third in the first go round with a score of 80.
(Photo by Keith Hente, Staff)

SIKESTON -- Kicking off the 59th annual Sikeston Jaycee Bootheel Rodeo on Wednesday, riders took advantage of the cool temperatures and dry grounds to post results that likely will keep them near the top of leader board throughout the week.

In the fan favorite bull riding competition, only three riders held on long enough to post a score with Trevor Kastner coming out on top with an 89. Jake Weber edged out Brad Harris for second with an 81 while Harris' 80 was good for third.

Jackson native Ty Atchison took top honors in saddle bronc riding. His score of 82 easily beat out Kyle Whitaker whose 76 was good for second. Rounding out the top three was Bobby Griswold with a 74.

With an 83, Tanner Aus ruled the bareback riding as D.V. Fennell and Jared Smith tied for second with each posting scores of 80. Danny Webb was the only other rider to post a score, earning a 79 which was good for fourth.

In steer wrestling, Matt Reeves smoked the competition with a time of 4.4 seconds earning him the top spot. Kyle Whitaker, whose time of 6.1 seconds was good for second, was the only other contestant to finish under 10 seconds.

Ty Atchison competes in the saddle bronc event on Wednesday at the 59th annual Sikeston Jaycee Bootheel Rodeo. Atchison, from Jackson, took the top spot with a score of 82.
(Photo by Brent Shipman, Staff)
Finishing opening night with a time of 8.8 seconds, Jared Kempker led the pack in tie down roping while Lance Millican took home second place on the night with a time of 9.8 seconds. Third place was Blake Ash, who finished in 10.4 seconds.

The pair of Cody Graham and Jason Thompson won the team roping event with a time of four seconds flat with Arky Rogers and York Gill coming in second with a 5.1.

Just edging out her competition, Sherrylynn Johnson earned top honors in barrel racing with a time of 16.41 seconds with second place finisher Tracy Nowlin close behind with a 16.74. Third place was Lesly Luttrell, who finished in 16.85 seconds.