[Nameplate] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 88°F ~ Low: 73°F
Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2016

SHS soccer players earn postseason honors

Thursday, December 1, 2011


SIKESTON -- After a record-breaking season, the Sikeston Bulldogs soccer team has many players on post-season awards lists.

The 2011 All-District and SEMO All-Conference teams each feature seven Bulldogs.

Leading the SEMO Conference selections are senior Hunter Williams and junior Brandon Goodwin, who each made the first team.

Williams and Goodwin were Sikeston's leading goal scorers this year on a squad that surpassed the school record for wins with a 20-5 record.

Goodwin led the team with 27 goals, including a record-setting seven goals in one game during the regular season. Williams added 26 goals and 21 assists, which is an almost unheard of stat line.

"You can possibly perceive some future recognition as far as state-wide when it comes to this," Sikeston coach Doyle Noe said. "They each had a great year, a record-setting year.

"It's great to see Hunter recognized for all of his hard work and also Brandon. This is definitely something he can build on for next year."

Senior Michael Gipson, junior Paul Hughes and sophomore Chase Baron were selected as second team players. Tyler McClinton and Josh Bill were put on the honorable mention list.

"They've all had great careers and a great year," said Noe. "For some of these underclassmen, like Brandon, Chase, Paul and Tyler, it's huge because it's something they can use as motivation for next year."

Williams, Goodwin, Gibson and Bill all made the first team All-District squad, while Hughes, Baron and McClinton were given second team nods.

This season was a special one for the Bulldogs. Not only did they achieve their highest win total in history, they also won their first district championship since 2005 and won the school's very first postseason game.

The rest of the 2011 SEMO All-Conference list can be found on Page 2B on the Scoreboard.

SEMO Soccer 2011


First team

Ethan Groshong, Soph., Cape Central

Vance Toole, Sr., Cape Central

Corey Herzog, Sr., Farmington

Will Hitson, Sr., Farmington

Alex Slinkard, Sr., Farmington

Nathan Wulfert, Sr., Farmington

Dylan Blaylock, Sr., Jackson

Law Duncan, Sr., Jackson

Ryan Schlick, Sr., Jackson

Aaron Arnzen, Sr., Notre Dame

James Holloway, Sr., Notre Dame

Jonathan Lynch, Sr., Notre Dame

Francis Esquivel, Jr., Poplar Bluff

Logan Sprandel, Jr., Saxony Lutheran

Brandon Goodwin, Jr., Sikeston

Hunter Williams, Sr., Sikeston

Second Team

Chandler Bagley, Soph., Cape Central

Austin Shupert, Sr., Cape Central

Logan England, Soph., Farmington

Tim McCarthy, Sr., Farmington

Alex Pinkston, Sr., Farmington

Clayton Baker, Sr., Jackson

Zach Taylor, Sr., Jackson

Logan Buchheit, Jr., Notre Dame

Luke Mocherman, Jr., Notre Dame

Matt Ponder, Sr., Notre Dame

Hunter Urhahn, Sr., Notre Dame

John Hardin, Fr., Poplar Bluff

Jose Ventura, Fr., Poplar Bluff

Taylor Johnson, Sr., Saxony Lutheran

Brandon Klinkhardt, Jr., Saxony Lutheran

Chase Baron, Soph., Sikeston

Michael Gibson, Sr., Sikeston

Paul Hughes, Jr., Sikeston

Honorable Mention

Nick Barnes, Jr., Cape Central

Branton Reeves, Sr., Cape Central

Jimmy Moore, Jr., Farmington

Keagan Cavanah, Jr., Jackson

Austin Gammon, Jr., Jackson

Luke Crites, Sr., Notre Dame

Trey Clevenger, Sr., Poplar Bluff

Mario Ventura, Sr., Poplar Bluff

Jeremy Englehart, Sr., Saxony Lutheran

Anthony Etzold, Jr., Saxony Lutheran

Josh Bill, Sr., Sikeston

Tyler McClinton, Fr., Sikeston