[Nameplate] Fair ~ 88°F  
Feels like: 98°F
Tuesday, Aug. 30, 2016

Sikeston wrestlers finish eighth at Lindbergh Classic

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

LINDBERGH -- The Sikeston wrestling team had a strong showing over the holidays, placing eighth in the tough Lindbergh Flyer Holiday Classic last week.

The 11-team, two-day event featured some of the largest and most talented programs in the eastern part of the state.

"This was a tough tournament, the first day was an absolute meat grinder," said Sikeston coach Seth Harrell. "We wrestled much better the second day. I felt that we had more confidence and were more focused."

Sikeston had six wrestlers finish with medals as the top five earned medals in each weight class.

Both Kenton Robinson and Clayton Driskill placed second while Ben Walker and Blake Angle finished third.

"Kenton Robinson continues to wrestle really well," Harrell said. "He finished in second place and lost to a kid that finished third in the state last year in (Class 4)."

Harrell said he was really impressed with Driskill and Walker.

"Clayton had a great tournament," Harrell said. "He upset the number one seed from the other pool to make it to the championship match. He is such a smart kid and hard worker. He continues to get better.

"He started and finished the tournament against the best kid in the state of Missouri in my opinion. There is something to be said about that. No one will beat J'Den Cox."

Walker, who missed the first part of the season with an injury is adding to Sikeston's already talented roster.

"This was Ben Walker's first time wrestling for us this year," Harrell said. "He has been battling a knee injury that started during the football season. For him to compete the way he did was outstanding. I was really impressed with the fact that he avenged a loss to win third place."

Also placing for Sikeston was Austin Henson in fourth and Clay Porter for fifth place.

Sikeston is back in action tonight at the Field House when they host Poplar Bluff.

Team Scores

1. Troy Buchanan - 162

2. Lafayette (Wildwood) - 154

3. Lindbergh - 136.5

4. Oak Park - 132

5. Francis Howell - 128.5

6. Columbia Hickman - 123.5

7. Washington - 123

8. Sikeston - 78

9. Kirkwood - 61

10. Hazelwood West - 40

11. Mehlville - 36

Individual medalist

120 - Blake Angle (Sikeston) dec Matt Ratterree (Lindbergh) 3-2 for 3rd place

126 - Cody Summers (Washington) over Cody Middleton (Sikeston) for 5th place

138 - Nick Olejnik (Layfayette) dec Kenton Robinson (Sikeston) 2-0 for 1st place

160 - Clay Porter (Sikeston) dec Lawerance Krabbe (Mehlville) 5-4 for 5th place

195 - Kevin Root (Layfayette) over Austin Henson (Sikeston) for 3rd place

220 - J'Den Cox (Columbia Hickman) over Clayton Driskill (Sikeston) for 1st place

285 - Ben Walker (Sikeston) dec Jimmy Sellers (Mehlville) 7-2 for 3rd place