[Nameplate] Fair ~ 84°F  
High: 91°F ~ Low: 73°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Local players are selected to all-region team

Wednesday, March 28, 2012

FARMINGTON -- Several local boys and girls basketball players were honored on the 2012 Southeast Missouri Sportswriters All-Region Basketball team.

In Class 4, three players from Sikeston were named to the all-region squad. Terry Jamison (5-9, sr.) and Vashawn Ruffin (5-10, jr.) were both named to the first team while J.T. Jones (6-2, soph.) was an honorable mention.

Jamison averaged 12.5 points, 5.3 assists, 4 rebounds and 3 steals while Ruffin was at 14 points, 4 assists and 3 rebounds. Jones scored 10.5 points and grabbed 7 rebounds a contest.

Dexter's Jake Lee (6-2, sr.) and Tyler Miller (6-2, sr.) both were named to the second team with Lee at 14.9 points and 9 rebounds and Miller with 15.6 points and 5.5 rebounds.

In Class 4 girls, Dexter's Brittany Harris was named to the first team while Hannah Noe and Paige Patterson were both second team. Harris (5-11, sr.) scored 16.5 points per game while grabbing 9.4 rebounds. Noe was at 10.9 points and 4.4 assists while Patterson scored 11.3 points and grabbed 7.7. rebounds.

In Class 3, Charleston's Greg Tucker and Ryan Parham were selected to the first team along with Scott City's Zach Cotner.

Tucker (6-2, sr.) scored 20.6 points with 3 rebounds, 2.4 steals and 2.3 assists while Parham (5-11, jr.) scored 10.4 points and had 4.5 assists. Cotner (6-0, sr.) averaged 19 points and 8 rebounds.

In Class 3 girls, New Madrid County Central's Benesha Childress and Scott City's Katie Hogan were chosen for the first team while Charleston's Kasuela Cooper and E'Neikqua Ewing along with NMCC's Karen McGloson were named to the second team.

Childress (5-9, jr.) was at 19.3 points, 8.2 rebounds and 4.6 steals while Hogan (6-2, sr.) put up 17.5 points, 12.3 rebounds and 7.4 blocks.

Cooper (6-0, sr.) scored 18 points and had 12 rebounds while Ewing (5-10, jr.) scored 17 points and 10 rebounds. McGloson (5-10, jr.) finished with 17.9 points and 9 rebounds.

In Class 2, Portageville's Dominique Walker (6-2, jr.) was selected for the first team while Chaffee's Alex Crowe (5-11, sr.) and Oran's Kody Moore (5-10, jr.) were second team.

Walker averaged 18 points, 6 rebounds, 4 steals and 3 assists while Crowe was at 17.6 points, 4.4 assists, 3 rebounds and Moore poured in 18 points a contest.

In Class 1, Scott County Central was well represented with Dominique Porter (5-11, sr.) and LaMarcus Steward (5-9, sr.) making the first team and Larandis Banks (5-10, so.) earning second team honors.

Porter led the area in scoring with 24.5 points a game while grabbing 7.4 rebounds. Steward scored 14.9 points and dished 5.7 assists while Banks scored 14 points a contest.

Also honored was Risco's Chris Pavy and Luke Bixler. Pavy (5-10, sr.) was a first teamer with 18.6 points, 6.3 assists, 4.6 steals and 4.6 rebounds. Bixler (5-11, sr.) scored 19.3 points with 4 assists, 3.6 rebounds and 3.8 steals.

The complete list consists of:

2012 Southeast Missouri Sportswriters All-Region Basketball



First Team:

Jamal Cox, 6-5, soph., Cape Central

Karson King, 6-5, soph., Jackson

Kendric McCain, 6-0, sr., Poplar Bluff

John Meyer, 6-9, sr., Jackson

T.J. Tisdell, 6-6, sr., Cape Central


First Team:

Terry Jamison, 5-9., sr., Sikeston

Nathan Meystedt, 5-10., sr., Notre Dame

Vashawn Ruffin, 5-10, jr., Sikeston

Doug Warren, 6-4, sr., Farmington

Bryce Weibrecht, 6-3, sr., Perryville

Second Team:

Roper Garrett, 6-3, sr., Farmington

Jake Lee, 6-2, sr., Dexter

Tyler Miller, 6-2, sr., Dexter

Brock Mills, 6-8, sr., Fredericktown

Brendan Weiler, 6-0, sr., Ste. Genevieve

Honorable Mention:

J.T. Jones, 6-2, soph., Sikeston

Andy McGraw, 5-10, sr., North County

Jared Thieret, 6-4., sr., Perryville


First Team:

Zach Cotner, 6-0, sr., Scott City

Derek Hutchins, 6-4, sr., Doniphan

Darrell Monroe, 6-2, soph., Caruthersville

Ryan Parham, 5-11, jr., Charleston

Greg Tucker, 6-2, sr., Charleston

Second Team:

Steven Barnett, 6-4, jr., West County

Kevonte Mitchell, 6-3, soph., Kennett

Brian Patterson, 6-7, jr., Doniphan

Ethan Roach, 6-0, jr., Clearwater

Michael Snider, 6-0, jr., Twin Rivers

Honorable Mention:

Elbie Fonda, 5-10, sr., Caruthersville

Matt McCoy, 6-3, sr., Kingston


First Team:

Jackson Conaway, 6-1, sr., Viburnum

Jamie Massey, 6-7, jr., Holcomb

Cody Rector, 6-4, sr., Van Buren

Jerome Thomas, 6-2, sr., Hayti

Dominique Walker, 6-2, jr., Portageville

Second Team:

Lane Below, 5-10, soph., Advance

Logan Blunt, 6-2, jr., Bismarck

Ethan Boyer, 5-11, jr., East Carter

Alex Crowe, 5-11, sr., Chaffee

Kody Moore, 5-10, jr., Oran

Honorable Mention:

David Baker, 6-0, jr., Bernie

Austin Crane, 5-8, sr., Greenville

Trevor Cunningham, 6-0, sr., Lesterville

Demetrius Luster, 6-2, soph., Hayti


First Team:

James Macklin, 6-3, sr., North Pemiscot

Chris Pavy, 5-10, sr., Risco

Dominique Porter, 5-11, sr., Scott County Central

Andy Rinehart, 6-3, sr., Gideon

LaMarcus Steward, 5-9, sr., Scott County Central

Second Team:

Larandis Banks, 5-10, soph., Scott County Central

Ryan Below, 6-3, soph., Oak Ridge

Luke Bixler, 5-11, sr., Risco

Corey Goin, 5-10, jr., Gideon

Kyle Stroder, 6-5, jr., Leopold

Honorable Mention:

Trevor Ruble, 6-1, sr., South Iron



First Team:

Alayah Cooper-Johnson, 5-7, jr., Cape Central

Dru Haertling, 5-8, sr., Jackson

Connor King, 6-1, sr., Jackson

Chelsea Vinson, 5-10, jr., Cape Central

Marissa Webb, 5-9, sr., Poplar Bluff

Honorable Mention:

Danielle Farmer, 5-11, jr., Poplar Bluff


First Team:

Brooke Bohnert, 5-8, sr., Notre Dame

Brittany Harris, 5-11, jr., Dexter

Brittany Collins, 6-0, sr., North County

Riley Owens, 5-5, sr., Park Hills Central

Rachel Williams, 6-1, jr., Farmington

Second Team:

Summer Burger, 5-6, sr., Notre Dame

Natalie Gremaud, 5-9, jr., Perryville

Jordan Martin, 5-7, soph., Farmington

Hannah Noe, 5-9, soph., Dexter

Paige Patterson, 6-1, soph., Dexter

Honorable Mention:

Mackenzie Jones, 5-3, fr., Park Hills Central

Hanna Klein, 5-10, sr., Ste. Genevieve


First Team:

Benesha Childress, 5-9, jr., NMCC

Tori Cole, 6-1, jr., Twin Rivers

Katie Gettinger, 5-7, sr., West County

Katie Hogan, 6-2, sr., Scott City

Lexi Morris, 5-8, fr., Clearwater

Second Team:

Kasuela Cooper, 6-0, sr., Charleston

E'Neikqua Ewing, 5-10, jr., Charleston

Karen McGloson, 5-10, jr., NMCC

Kendra Pinkley, 5-10, sr., Woodland

Audrey Wynne, 6-0, sr., Kennett


First Team:

Erin Bollmann, 5-9, sr., Meadow Heights

Taylor Cook, 5-10, sr., Lesterville

Kayla Maupin, 5-10, jr., Neelyville

Carrie Shephard, 5-8, soph., South Pemiscot

Whitney Welker, 5-9, sr., Meadow Heights

Second Team:

Hannah Adams, 5-4, jr., Viburnum

Courtney Heberlie, 5-7, sr., St. Vincent

Brettnie Henson, 6-1, sr., Bismarck

Brooke Sheppard, 5-9, jr., Neelyville

Kelen Smith, 5-8, jr., East Carter


First Team:

Tori Burton, 5-8, sr., Delta

Taylor Colyott, 5-10, sr., South Iron

Darby Pruett, 5-5, soph., Naylor

Andrea Sullivan, 5-3, jr., Naylor

Machela VanGennip, 5-7, sr., Delta