[Nameplate] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 92°F ~ Low: 73°F
Sunday, Aug. 28, 2016

Pullen slips past Jackson in commissioner race

Wednesday, August 8, 2012

CHARLESTON -- Mississippi County will have two new county commissioners, one of which remains to be determined.

With no Republicans filed for the first district county commissioner seat, the matter was settled by the county's voters Tuesday with the upset of incumbent Robert M. Jackson.

Replacing Jackson in January will be Mitch Pullen who was elected to the position with 383 votes to narrowly edge out Jackson, who got 376 votes, in a three-way race. Also running was Thomas M. Gideon who received 21 votes.

The final decision on who will represent the county's second district will not be decided until November when Stanley Craig Sutton, the only Republican seeking a Mississippi County office, will face Democrat Darrell Jones.

With 519 votes cast in his favor, Jones was picked by voters over Bobby McTigue who got 265.

Sutton received 307 votes from Republicans.

The Democrat incumbent, Steve Jones, did not seek another term.

In the race for assessor, which has also been decided in the primary with no Republicans seeking the office, Lisa Finley Norton beat out Clark Dugan 892-646.

In yet another race decided on Democratic ballots, incumbent Coroner Terry A. Parker will get another term with his 1,363 votes bringing a landslide victory over challenger Donald Allen Raithel's 144.

For the complete article and more stories from the Standard Democrat, click here to log on to the electronic edition.