[Nameplate] Fair ~ 91°F  
Feels like: 98°F
Monday, Aug. 29, 2016

Opening night

Thursday, August 9, 2012

Doug Aldrige, from Carthage, holds on to "Summer Wages" for a score of 78 in the saddle bronc riding event Wednesday during the opening night of the 60th Annual Sikeston Jaycee Bootheel Rodeo.
(Photo by David Jenkins, Staff)
Fast times and high scores get rodeo started


SIKESTON -- The 60th annual Sikeston Jaycee Bootheel Rodeo kicked off on Wednesday with some fast times and high scores.

In the tightly contested bareback riding event, Jason Havens took top honors with a score of 87 riding Night Bells. Kaycee Feild was close behind with an 86 while Ryan Gray rounded out the top three with a score of 85.

K.C. Jones' time of 4.5 seconds was the fastest of the night's steer wrestling contestants. Nick Guy was second on the night with a time of 5.5 seconds was Beau Clark finished in six seconds to claim third.

The saddle bronc riding event was led by Danger DeMoss's score of 83, followed by Chet Johnson with a 79. Third place in the event was a two-way tie between Jesse Wright and Doug Aldrige as the each posted scores of 78.

Tie down roping was won by Austin Davis, who finished in 10.8 seconds. Bill Huber and Josh Foutch finished in second and third with times of 14.9 and 16.7 seconds respectively.

Out of 12 teams to compete in team roping, only four were able to complete their run. The team of Nathan McWhorter and Twister Cain were fastest on the night with a time of 5.5 seconds, followed closely by Cody Graham and Jason Thompson, who finished in 5.8 seconds. Third was taken by Brock Hanson and Ryan Motes with a time of 10.4 seconds.

First place in barrel racing was decided by under two-tenths of a second as Sue Berg edged out Randa Kellogg by finishing her run in 16.63 seconds. Kellogg's run was 16.81 seconds. With a time of 22.70, Nisha Middleton took third.

In what was the most surprising of the night's events, only one out of 12 riders in bull riding was able to stay on the full eight seconds. That rider was Lucas Guilbeau, who scored a 79 take first place.

Bareback Riding

1. Jason Havens, 87

2. Tom Dooley, 86

3. Ryan Gray, 85

4. Tyler Scales, 78

5. Joe Gunderson, 77

6. (t) Tilden Hooper, 72

6. (t) Craig Wisehart, 72

Steer Wrestling

1. K.C. Jones, 4.5

2. Nick Guy, 5.5

3. Beau Clark, 6.0

4. Kyle Whitaker, 6.1

5. Bray Armes 14.7

6. Dean Gorsuch, 26.4

Saddle Bronc

1. Danger DeMoss, 83

2. Chet Johnson, 79

3. (t) Jesse Wright, 78

3. (t) Doug Aldrige, 78

5. Will Smith, 77

6. Alex Wright, 76

7. (t) Cody DeMoss, 75

7. (t) Clayton Zibell, 75

9. Tyler Corrington, 72

10. Cort Schaer, 71

Tie Down Roping

1. Austin Davis, 10.8

2. Bill Huber, 14.9

3. Josh Foutch, 16.7

4. Fred Whitfield, 19.9

5. Kyle Whitaker, 24.9

Team Roping

1. Nathan McWhorter/ Twister Cain, 5.5

2. Cody Graham/Jason Thompson, 5.8

3. Brock Hanson/Ryan Motes, 10.4

4. Aaron Tsinigine/Caleb Twisselman, 11.5

Barrel Racing

1. Sue Berg, 16.63

2. Randa Kellogg, 16.81

3. Nisha Middleton, 22.70

4. Jordan Talbot, 23.69

5. Courtney Hixon, 23.70

Bull Riding

1. Lucas Guilbeau, 79