[Nameplate] Fair ~ 73°F  
High: 89°F ~ Low: 72°F
Friday, Aug. 26, 2016

Nichols wins division at Tiger Classic

Monday, December 17, 2012

Sikeston senior Nick Nichols pins Summit's Dalton Turner while competing in the 195-pound division of the Tiger Classic Friday at Cape Central Junior High School. Nichols was named champion after pinning all opponents both days in his division. As a team, Sikeston finished fourth with 195.5 points.
(Photo by Brent Shipman, Staff)

CAPE GIRARDEAU -- Improving on last year's showing by three places, the Sikeston Bulldogs wrapped up the Tiger Classic wrestling tournament on Saturday with a fourth place team finish at Cape Central Junior High School.

The Bulldogs' 195.5 points easily edged out fifth place Rockwood Summit, who finished with 180, and were a marked on improve on last year's seventh place finish when they scored 148 points.

Jackson trumped all comers with 322.5 points while Northwest and Ste. Genevieve took the next two spots with 280 and 233 points respectively.

"I think the boys wrestled really well and I am very proud of their effort and work in our first tournament of the year," Sikeston head coach Chris Lowe said. "The boys left it out on the mat this weekend and we will continue to try and improve every day and every week. We had a great crowd of supporters."

Senior Nick Nichols was the team standout as he took the 195-pound championship in dominant style by pinning all of his opponents.

Other notable contenders include Clay Porter, who finished in third place at 170 pounds and Jacob Stinnett, who placed third at 132 pounds.

Cody Middleton was the third Bulldog to finish third in his class at the 126-pound division.

Both Garrett Middleton (106) and Garrick Madison (113) took fourth in their division and Javeon Bonner finished sixth at 120 pounds.

On the consolation side of the bracket, Tarrington Marks took top honors at 220 pounds while Devin Cochran (182) and Gage Barber (285) placed fourth.

John Paul Rowland (152) and Courtney Hawkins (145) finished fifth and seventh respectively in the consolation bracket.

The Bulldogs will wrestle again in the Lindbergh Tournament on Dec. 27-28

Team and individual Sikeston results from Saturday's final day are as followed.

Team totals

1. Jackson 322.5

2. Northwest 280

3. Ste. Genevieve 233

4. Sikeston 195.5

5. Rockwood Summit 180

6. Francis Howell North 167

7. Rolla 161

8. DeSoto 159.5

9. Union 153.5

10. Mehlville 147.5

11. Hillsboro 143

12. Christian County, Ken., 129

13. Sullivan 109.5

14. Dexter 107.5

15. Cape Central 93

16. Notre Dame 69.5

17. University City 16

Individual Sikeston results

106 -- Garrett Middleton (fourth place)

Loss 7-5 to David Klinkhardt of Rockwood Summit

WBF over Jacob Adams of North West House springs

Won 9-0 over Joe Leach of Rolla

Lost 7-6 to David Klinhardt of Rockwood Summit

113 -- Garrick Madison (fourth place)

Won 14-7 over Brandon Steffe of Mehlville

Lost 17-5 to Kodi Byrd of Jackson

won 12-0 over Andrew Derousse of St Gen

LBF to Brandon Steffe of Mehlville

120 -- Javeon Bonner (sixth place)

WBF over Tyzairean Moore of Cape Central

LBF to Sam Byrd of Jackson

Lost 10-1 to Matt Stander of Rockwood Summit

126 -- Cody Middleton (third place)

LBF to Jordan Nowah of Union

WBF over Micah Collier of Jackson

won 12-4 over Dalton Adams of Desoto

Won 10-1 over Jason Smith of Rockwood Summit

132 -- Jacob Stinnett (third place)

Won 10-6 over Will Minton of North West

LBF to Tyler Smith of Francis Howell North

Won 6-3 over Jarrath Foster of Mehlville

Won 8-2 over Tyler Lambeth of Rolla

145 -- Courtney Hawkins (seventh place, cons.)

LBF to Alex Davis-Carter of Cape Central

Lost 8-6 to Grant Feldt of Rockwood summit

152 -- John Paul Rowland (fifth place, cons.)

LBF to Clayton Mayer of Sullivan

WBF over Randy West of Desoto

LBF to Caylin Herr of Rockwood Summit

WBF over Aaron Sandlin of Dexter

170 -- Clay Porter (third place)

LBF to Ian McIntosh of Rockwood Summit

Won 6-2 over JD Johnson of Hillsboro

Won 6-3 over Greg Vonder Haar of Mehlville

182 -- Devin Cochran (fourth place, cons.)

Lost 17-4 to Xavier Pate of Christian County

Lost by Disqualification of Kyle Williams of Desoto

195 -- Nick Nichols (champion)

WBF over AJ Carr of Christian County

WBF over Darien Absten of Rolla

WBF over Dalton Turner of Sullivan

220 -- Tarrington Marks (first place,cons.)

Won 12-7 over William Trbvbille of Desoto

WBF over Jake Steiner of Rolla

285 -- Gage Barber (fourth place, cons.)

WBF over Kishan Patel of Sullivan

LBF to Lucas Fann of Desoto

WBF over Jakori Jones of Christian County

Lost 5-2 to Cameron Craft of Dexter