[Nameplate] Fair ~ 84°F  
High: 91°F ~ Low: 73°F
Thursday, Aug. 25, 2016

Sikeston resident is serving as the District Eight governor for Altrusa International Inc.

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Diane Eberhard
SIKESTON -- As Diane Eberhard's two-year term nears its end, the only Sikeston resident to be elected as governor of Altrusa International's District Eight reflected on her experience so far.

"It's been great," Eberhard said about her term, which began in April 2011 and will end in April 2013. "It's been a fantastic learning opportunity to meet other people and learn from other people and the things people are doing in their communities. It's a good way to be involved with service."

The last time a Southeast Missouri resident was governor of the district was from 1994 to 1996 when Betty Absheer held the position. Prior to Absheer, the only other Southeast Missouri resident to hold the highest district position was the late Poplar Bluff resident Mildred Lewis, from 1980 to 1982.

District Eight consists of 25 clubs in the states of Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri and Oklahoma.

Typically, district governors hold various positions on the board through the years and work their way up to running for governor, Eberhard said about the process to be district governor. And then they run for office and are elected by members, she said.

For the complete article and more stories from the Standard Democrat, log on to the electronic edition.